TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Joe McNally interviewed by B5

with 4 comments

joe Mcnally in ljubljana photo borutpeterlin.com 20100420_2457

Here is an interview with Joe McNally during his visit in Ljubljana. I’m truly inspired by his work and his open attitude. From day one in college every professor was preaching specialization in your work and as much as I admire photographers that developed a style that is recognizable, I somehow never succeed to impose a style on everything my lens focus on. I mean of course when you see my creative portraits, Flower Power, Tour de Dayton or any other project a style is recognizable, but every project I use different language. Not to mention that in my commercial career I do whatever kind of photography demands a job. When conversation comes to this topic I’m (almost) apologizing and explaining that it’s different if your marketplace is a nation of 60 million residents or if it’s less then 2 million. And it’s different if your photography pays your rent or if it funds your whole family + funding a construction of a house.

But that’s in the past. I met this great man, who openly says that he enjoys his time behind a camera and do the kind of photography that does the job. The best quote from the interview is “When you say YES to a client, their problems becomes your problems”. My thoughts exactly!

I showed him my Striptiz creative portraits and he really liked it and even mentioned me on his blog (here). Thanks JOE!!!

I hope you’ll enjoy the interview. Later during the day I’ll upload an mp3 version for your walkman :-)

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this guy likes to talk….i can see why you fantasize about him…errr…i mean appreciate his work.

    jc

    5 May, 2010 at 11:33

  2. Hah…Not really an interview… It is more monologue… But it was great listening to him…

    matjazz

    5 May, 2010 at 18:42

  3. Actually if I don’t warm up (for a week or three), my English is horrible, so I cut out my questions. Also some other journalists asked questions that were poorly recorded, so this is the best that I could have done from this material.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    5 May, 2010 at 20:34

  4. well its very not bad at all…i wasn’t commenting on your technique…but i’m glad you warned us that it kept going for another 15 minutes!

    jc

    6 May, 2010 at 08:44


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,003 other followers

