TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Poorest Roma in Slovenia (also this is EU)

with 11 comments

20110114_8652

Last week I’ve visited two Roma families that are living on their own land in Semič, Slovenia. They are isolated from Roma and Slovenian community. I saw a lot of Roma communities but they were surely the poorest. They are even poorer then Roma in Dobruška vas.

My daughters in Roma settlementWhen I showed this pictures to my three years old daughter she said, they are poor because they are stealing, isn’t? I couldn’t believe my ears. I explained that theft is not limited to nationality. I also wanted to add that many members of Slovenian elite are accused and prosecuted because they were stealing (cheating, bribing, blackmailing,…) and they are far from being poor, but I didn’t want to leave a feeling that crime pays off, although it’s obvious that white collar crime does pay off in Slovenia.

I explained my dear daughter that these Roma are poor because they are not educated and they are not educated because they don’t speak Slovenian and they don’t want to go to school because they are dirty since they don’t have a running (or drinking) water, nor electricity. I ask her how would she felt of she would not wear her beautiful skirt, but she would wear that old, dirty, smelly oversize coat? I show her all the details of their home, where they are cooking, eating, sleeping. Their room is all in smoke, because of horrible heating. I show her that they don’t even have doors! Next day I took both daughters to Roma settlement in Brezje. I had many pictures to give away, so I asked my daughters to join me. Little Brina was very shocked. She said. Isn’t true daddy, that the boy in the back is not being cold, because he’s used to walk barefoot in cold although it’s winter? I explain her that this is like in story Levi Devžej where children were really poor and they were walking barefooted through snow. Also Lučka was very touched by the experience.

Silently I was thinking that these Roma are as poor as my ancestors about two or three hundred years ago. And I thought how will our future generation looked at us, on our generation. Perhaps they will look this pictures and even read this and wondered how could we be so primitive that we ruined this planet, not from lack of knowledge, but because of greed. Perhaps my great, great, great, great grand children will live in this kind of room…

20110114_863820110114_866920110114_873220110114_879620110114_880120110114_884320110114_870220110114_877720110114_875820110114_8836

Prejšnji teden smo za Mladino obiskali dve romski družini, ki živita na svoji zemlji, na obrobju Semiča. So izolirani tako s strani romske, kot tudi romske skupnosti in videl sem že ogromno romskih družin, a tako revnih še ne. So celo bolj revni kot Romi iz Dobruške vasi.

Ko sem kazal fotke svoji triletni hčeri, ki se je zopet zmrdovala glede kosila, kako revni otroci živijo, je rekla; Revni so zato, ker kradejo, kaj ne? Nisem mogel verjeti svojim ušesom. Objasnil sem ji, da se lopovi ne omejujejo na barvo kože ali nacionalnost. Hotel sem dodati, da so mnogi pripadniki slovenske elite kazensko preganjani zaradi lopovstva (korupcija, podkupovanje, izsiljevanje,…) in še daleč od tega, da bi bili revni, a nisem hotel pustiti vtisa, da se kriminal izplača, čeprav je vsakemu očitno, da se v Sloveniji kriminal belih ovratnikov zelo dobro izplača.

My daughters in Roma settlementObjasnil sem svoji dragi hčerki, da so ti Romi tako revni, ker niso izobraženi, in niso izobraženi, ker ne govorijo slovensko in nočejo v šolo, ker so tako umazani, saj njihovi domovi nimajo ne tekoče (ali pitne) vode, niti elektrike. Vprašal sem jo kako bi se počutila, če ne bi šla v šolo v svojem lepem plaščku, ampak v tej stari, umazani, preveliki bundi? Pokazal sem ji detajle kje živijo, kuhajo, jejo, spijo. Pokazal sem ji, da živijo v zakajeni sobici, ker jim dimnik pušča. So tako revni, da nimajo niti vrat. Naslednji dan sem vzel obe hčerki v romsko naselje Brezje, da razdamo Romom moje fotografije, ki sem jih davno posnel. Mala Brina je bila kar šokirana in spraševala; Kaj ne, da tistega fantka ne zebe, ker je že navajen, da hodi bos, kljub temu, da je zima? Pojasnil sem ji, da so tako revni, kot so bili sosedje v pripovedi Levi Devžej, ki so bosi hodili skozi sneg. Tudi Lučko se je zelo dotaknila izkušnja.

Brez besed sem pomislil, da so ti Romi tako revni, kot so bili moji predniki pred kakimi dvesto, tristo leti. Pomislil sem kako bodo moji potomci čez kakih sto, dvesto let gledali name in na našo civilizacijo. Morda bodo gledali moje slike, ali to brali in se spraševali kako smo lahko bili tako primitivni, da smo uničili ta planet ne iz neznanja, ampak iz pohlepa! Morda bodo moji potomci živeli v takšni sobici.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by borutpeterlin and Igor Motl, Marija Kozin. Marija Kozin said: RT @borutpeterlin: Poorest Romas in Slovenia (also this is EU): http://wp.me/p1EuY-1kK [...]

  2. Ne morem reči lepe fotke. Realnost boli, ko jo tako direktno vidiš.

    M5

    24 January, 2011 at 19:57

  3. [...] Auch das ist EU … Nachdenkliches gibt es auf dem Fotoblog von Borut Peterlin. (engl.) [...]

  4. nice to see you make documentary again…

    jc

    25 January, 2011 at 14:23

  5. Dear JC, I’m just warming up! In next months I’m planning to start really serious podcasting service. Old school documentaries like at BBC, but with pictures. It’s the future’s call

    Borut Peterlin

    25 January, 2011 at 15:19

  6. Borut, you are the future! Don’t you forget that! Ever! Everyone raise their hands in the air for my main cefur Borut! If I can help you in your podcast adventure let me know…otherwise GO FUCK YOURSELF!

    jc

    25 January, 2011 at 17:18

  7. Revni so tudi zato, ker starši niso skrbni in zanemarjajo videz svojega doma in videz svojih otrok. A so prerevni, da bi pometli po tleh? Da bi pospravili in počistili umazanijo?

    soraja

    13 March, 2011 at 12:11

  8. A si prebral moj zadnji post?

    http://borutpeterlin.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/romas-colectively-cleaning-their-settlement-dobruska-vas-skocjan-slovenia/

    Se strinjam s tvojimi vprašanji. Odgovor sem našel v analogiji odnosa nas večinskega, urejenega prebivalstva do zdravja. Vsi vemo kaj je dobro za nas in medicina ima neštete dokaze, ki jim nihče ne oporeka, pa še vedno pijemo, kadimo, razvratno živimo, uničujemo planet z nevzdržnim odnosom,… Evo, najdi odgovor na to temo in boš našel odgovor na tvoje izvirno vprašanje. Trudim si najprej pomesti pred svojim pragom.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    13 March, 2011 at 12:32

  9. Aja, pa mimogrede, prav oni imajo okolico kar urejeno, vsekakor ti lahko najdem veliko nerevnih Slovencev, ki imajo veliko večji svinjak, če ti poizkusim odgovoriti.

    Borut Peterlin

    13 March, 2011 at 12:34

  10. pomojem najbolj ganljiva reportaža o romski reportaži, ki sem jo videl.

    jaka

    16 March, 2011 at 14:41

  11. Hvala Jaka in ostali!

    B5

    17 March, 2011 at 14:39


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,941 other followers

