TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

New creative portrait – no photomontage, straight from the lens. Mina Žabnikar

with 22 comments

mina žabnikar 20110225_5406

Mina Žabnikar is an illustrator and graphic designer. I’ve been commissioned by Mladina weekly to do her portrait and I was thinking how should I do a portrait as an illustration. I’ve done a really successful portraits of illustrators Katja Pal and Eva Vasari and many more illustrators. Just click search under keyword illustrator and you’ll be surprised as I was how many illustrators I’ve illustrated and that’s just a selection. I guess it’s good that I forget how I did my last portrait, so every time I start from the scratch and invent a new image.

Anyhow on a forum Lukka was wondering how I did the portrait. Easy, without a photomontage. Do you remember my picture series Zombies? I know JC does, it’s from 1997. I did this picture on a sidewalk in the beginning of my studies in Prague (1994) and I love it and I was keep on shooting in the same manner for the rest three years.

The portrait of Mina is done in this manner, with a small flash burst in her face, since it is a portrait after all. So technically as you can see in EXIF I used a long lens, an exposure of 1/10 and a door as a light shaft, so light is directed in one direction and not scattered through out the space. Basically I needed a silhouette and if that silhouette is moving, it does a slimming ghost effect as you see it. Last I needed s flashburst directed by a honeycomb onto her face. In postproduction I just level out the contrast on her face. Simple as pasulj.

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s amazing how creative one can be when using “somewhere in between” exposures(not too long but also not short too). Yes, it’s simple as “pasulj” but time is needed while mastering a technique. I like this one.
    LM

    Igor Motl

    16 April, 2011 at 10:42

  2. thx Igor “The Leopard man” Motl.

    Borut Peterlin

    16 April, 2011 at 11:50

  3. Dear Borut and Leopardman, I’ve waited days for a new post and so I’m happy to have something to look at. Zombies is a great photographic event in the world of the medium. I’m honored to have been in the room where Borut showed his work…or am I?

    jc

    16 April, 2011 at 13:46

  4. Yes, I remember JC. Your presence and that parek v rohliku that you’ve ate in the morning was omnipresnet through out the class.

    Borut Peterlin

    16 April, 2011 at 14:18

  5. By the way I spoke to Herr Steinz (not Jewish) today and he confirmed that his students fell asleep during your 35 minutes keynote presentation. In fact he has been taking photographs of sleeping students for some time and your presentation really hit the spot.

    Love,

    jc

    jc

    16 April, 2011 at 16:15

  6. I guess we find this kind of portraiting interesting enough not to fell asleep, but it’s also true that we have been immune after Krišner lectures :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    16 April, 2011 at 17:24

  7. Call me stupid, but I can’t see pasulj in this photo. :(

    P.S.
    I like that “EXIT” sign. It makes me think that she is on her way to http://exitfest.org/ :)

    Igor Petrović

    17 April, 2011 at 13:31

  8. Call me Igor, but I can’t make a pasulj, either :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    17 April, 2011 at 14:52

  9. Call me jc but I don’t eat communist food.

    jc

    18 April, 2011 at 15:35

  10. Call me communist, but I fart a lot after pasulj!!!

    Igor Motl

    18 April, 2011 at 16:00

  11. Just, don’t call me JC!

    Borut Peterlin

    18 April, 2011 at 22:05

  12. Ahhhh….

    jc

    19 April, 2011 at 12:32

  13. C’mmon JC, I know you like this constructive discussion. Give us some wisdom!!! :)

    Igor Motl

    19 April, 2011 at 19:54

  14. the wisdom here is that this picture, that looks like an old picture has 14 comments on it…most new material is pumped out and produced by the thousands…my wisdom is LESS IS MORE.

    jc

    20 April, 2011 at 07:05

  15. patnáctiho KOMENTÁŘI Vole!

    jc

    20 April, 2011 at 10:24

  16. I can’t believe my last comment did nothing for you.

    jc

    21 April, 2011 at 08:24

  17. weird.

    jc

    21 April, 2011 at 14:53

  18. RIP Tim Hetherington!!! http://www.timhetherington.com

    very big loss to the photography world.

    jc

    22 April, 2011 at 08:59

  19. фук офф

    jc

    23 April, 2011 at 21:24

  20. jc, is that You? :)

    Igor5rović

    24 April, 2011 at 15:33

  21. фaк офф JC, my brother, I’m working intensely, so I knew you’re posting comments, but I had to remain focused, so I haven’t read them.
    Yes, Tim…
    Rob made a what turned to be a last interview with him:
    http://www.aphotoeditor.com/2011/04/21/tim-hetheringtons-last-interview/

    “No second chances…”
    Tim’s words.

    Borut Peterlin

    25 April, 2011 at 05:40

  22. Great shot, I really like Mina’s work(and yours).

    Ben Gebo

    25 April, 2011 at 05:47


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,825 other followers

