TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Fashion designers, creatively portrayed

with 9 comments

fashion students 20110523_1045

Last week I’ve made a group portrait of students of fashion design in Ljubljana at Katedra za oblikovanje tekstilij in oblačil. In my series of creative portraits for Mladina weekly I usually make a portrait of a person, not very often a group portrait, but this portrait was about students that will have a great fashion show on 2nd of June 2011 at Kino Šiška.

It’s so hard to make an interesting group portrait. When I stepped in the room, I noticed many, many of those dolls and I knew I need them for the picture. In the middle of the room were tables. I knew I can’t build a compact composition if I will have a huge rectangular in the middle of the room, so I decided to move tables a side. You can see there are many many tables and I wasn’t sure if the room will look better with tables at the side, but I was sure it doesn’t work with tables in the middle so I got people engaged with moving tables to the side. That was the most tense moment for me. I wasn’t sure what I was doing, but I needed to give an impression I know exactly what I’m doing, so people would trust me. Did I say I’m awfully good at that? Anyhow, when I got a huge hole in the middle of the room, I asked people to bring drawing chairs from other room and align them strictly.

My concept was, OK, if I can not highlight a single person, I will depersonalize the portrait using patterns and perspective. I explained to students that I want to picture them as a platoon of Chinese sewers. Few of them found it funny, but few of them got really upset. Anyhow I asked them to trust me and on the end we all loved the image.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. question is…did your win or break their trust with this image.

    jc

    2 June, 2011 at 15:46

  2. tell me these two girls on the right…what’s up with their haircuts? are they twins? who had the first haircut and who followed?

    this is what the public wants to know…

    jc

    3 June, 2011 at 10:48

  3. ha, ha… JC. You always bring connotations that nobody sees! Susan Sontag would love you!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    3 June, 2011 at 22:49

  4. ah susan sontag…your references are brilliant.

    jc

    7 June, 2011 at 14:59

  5. Borut, this is sad…it’s just you and me here.

    jc

    8 June, 2011 at 15:44

  6. correction…just me.

    jc

    9 June, 2011 at 13:36

  7. prvi dve na desni :D :D

    Anonymous

    11 June, 2011 at 18:48

  8. duuuuuuuuuuuuuuude, change the picture!!!

    jc

    16 June, 2011 at 13:04

  9. dve v čipkastih srajčkah. pa dve z lasmi na desni. pa črna in blont… ojej, če ni tole en genialni portret vsake umetniške šole.

    euphemus

    18 June, 2011 at 00:04


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,950 other followers

