TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

A creative portrait of a painter Darko Slavec

with 16 comments

darko slavec 20111003_1809_borutpeterlin_com

darko_slavec_20111003_1876_borutpeterlin_com

Darko Slavec is a painter whose exhibition is closing this Sunday in Koroška galerija likovnih umetnosti. His work is dealing with micro and macro cosmos and human existence in between. In his paintings few symbols are present in this or another way. Foremost bread, stars, universe, black hole,… Link to his pictures.

When I was talking to him I got this idea that I would like to make a picture that would reflect his work more then a usual portrait. I bought this photoshop class at Creativelive and armed with new knowledge of wrapping and displacing images, I said to myself: And Now for Something Completely Different. Second picture I’ve done more in conventional manner. In Mladina weekly the second image will be published. Which one do you prefer?
More of my creative portraits on my site: www.borutpeterlin.com

I

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very cool idea Borut!

    Luka

    4 October, 2011 at 22:44

  2. Dobra predstavitev našega profesorja za fotografijo! :)

    mitja ilc

    4 October, 2011 at 22:52

  3. manonmona reblogged this on Espacio de MANON.

    manonmona

    4 October, 2011 at 23:09

  4. Top tole ej! Cestitke za idejo in izvedbo… sej je tesko rect kaj je bolše!

    Lenart ZoreLenart

    5 October, 2011 at 00:27

  5. I tend to prefer the second one just for the message and staying true to the style of these portraits.

    jc

    5 October, 2011 at 08:16

  6. Uau, thanks for all the comments. I do have a steady audience of about 500/day from all over the world, but usually I don’t get that many comments, or I do get it from JC and Igor Leopard Man and Igor Twoshads Jackson. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLjS3gzHetA

    Now I regret that I didn’t describe the technique in details how I’ve done it. It’s quite fascinating this displacing and mixing images. I’ll do it in near future.

    JC, the style of this portraits will inevitably change. I have enough of this aesthetic. I’m doing it for five years now, I master it and transcend it, I love it, but slowly I’m getting bored. Also the layout of this Striptiz rubric in Mladina weekly will change, so I have open hands to set new format and new aesthetics of portraits.
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    5 October, 2011 at 09:15

  7. Borut, I can’t believe you used the word inevitably. Brilliant. Regards to a new approach I say…go for it and reinvent yourself. You’ll be 37 in a month’s time and your young age of 32 (when you began this ) should be replaced by a more mature (hairy) Borut.

    jc

    5 October, 2011 at 11:12

  8. Don’t ask me why,
    I’m just a hairy guy,

    By Miloš Forman our ancestor at Famu :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    5 October, 2011 at 12:36

  9. Yes Milos…to byl clovek ne? ty vole…

    jc

    5 October, 2011 at 12:52

  10. Už zemřel ten vul? Do prdele, ty vole!

    Borut Peterlin

    5 October, 2011 at 12:59

  11. ne vubec! zije vole, zije fajn vole…

    jc

    5 October, 2011 at 14:17

  12. VAU … čisto Slavec (najboljši profesor ever) :)

    alenkasnakepit

    7 October, 2011 at 11:25

  13. How do you feel about the public opinion preferring your more classic portrait? Do we need to know how you did the first one for us to like it more?

    jc

    7 October, 2011 at 14:18

  14. Frankly I expected a worse result. 18/15 is excellent for my first try in this warping photoshop technique. I’m just warming up. My plan is to make it in a way that it will not be obvious, that the photoshop technique would not be the main motif. Inspiration to think like that is Pep Bonet’s series on transexual in Honduras.

    http://www.noorimages.com/index.php?id=2713

    Borut Peterlin

    8 October, 2011 at 15:14

  15. Let’s see some more movement here. Not moving is not your style Bruce PeterLINE.

    Anonymous

    11 October, 2011 at 09:52

  16. Oh jaaa, Ich come jetz!!!

    Borut Peterlin

    11 October, 2011 at 12:15


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,959 other followers

