TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

5am project at #occupywallstreet / Ljubljana

with 9 comments

This morning I got up before 4am and drove to Ljubljana to photograph protestors infront of Ljubljana stock exchange as a part #occupywallstreet movement. For eleven years I’m working on a 5am project where I take pictures around 5am in different places of Europe and hopefully once it’ll be a book. Actually in this years I’ve made almost a dozen versions of book dummies, but new images are keep on appearing and I can’t finish it. Here is a multi-vision version from year 2009. And HERE is a post with 5am images from Poland, Lithuania and Czech Republic.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These photos are amazing! Great work!

    redplace

    18 October, 2011 at 11:44

  2. Thank you man! The problem is, I’m getting better and better and I don’t want to publish a book without my best images I haven’t created yet, but no worries, the recession will keep me away from finishing the project in a book form for quite a while :-)
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    18 October, 2011 at 11:55

  3. Really excellent idea. As to your comment above – good to hear that the recession is at least feeding your creative output. :)

    pirano

    18 October, 2011 at 13:15

  4. Borut are u joking…? :) This way your daughters will publish a book after u die! :)… Your best photos are always ones that you are going to shoot tomorrow… Rather publish one book now and later 5am II, or 6am! :)

    matjazz

    18 October, 2011 at 16:32

  5. Matjazz, I’m afraid, 5am will be one of my later published books for sure. If it was upon me, I would do it already, but you know how it is. It’s not hard to make it, it’s hard not to bankrupt after. When family comes, priorities do change. But no worries, my time is coming and a day can not pass by 5am :-)

    Anonymous

    19 October, 2011 at 09:33

  6. yo, I’m here with Etienne “Don’t fuck with me” Boulais in the Alps and we just watched your 5 am project. I always liked this project and hope it continues. It’s your discovery, your life, your project that started from scratch when you were in Treviso. I would get rid of Daniel’s soundtrack that was made almost 12 years ago. At times it fits alright but most of the time it doesn’t and it takes away from the images. I would record sound at 5am, the neon lights, the bars, the streets and get a good sound designer and tailor it to your project. No more Fabrica, no more thanks to Oliviero…just go naked on this one. Etienne likes the pictures too…first time he sees it.

    jc

    21 October, 2011 at 09:08

  7. No kidding, Etienne “Idon’trepeatmynickname” Blois is with you? Where are you? In Boulais? Greetings to him! Yes, I’m keep on working on it. Many renown photographers really like it, like David Alan Harvey, Pep Bonet, Robert Knoth, and now also Etienne “Idon’tbreakfornoone” Couet. You are right, it is destined :-)
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    21 October, 2011 at 10:32

  8. [...] off the archway. Today it was replaced with a J. BOJ ZA translates to, ‘Fight For’.” BORUT PETERLIN in a rabbit hole of photography posts a 5AM photo from the Ljubljana Boj za camp (”For eleven years I’m working on a 5am [...]

  9. Some people take their avtoportraits every day so they can make a timelapse after 15 or 20 years. It’ll just be a proof that time really went by. This is totaly different… It takes you to every little walk and place you visited in the morning on that “x” day.And than again its not about the place at all – its the atmosphere that a place delivered. Sometimes I just wish I was such a “early morning pearson” as you are :)

    I think you should end the project and make a book when it stops to bring you joi making it. Ending it too soon might take the magic out.

    Take care, ML

    M.Ličar

    28 November, 2011 at 13:37


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,827 other followers

