TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

My best portrait in Wet Plate Collodion – Boris Cavazza

with 3 comments

Photo: Borut Peterlin

A special edition of Mladina with interviews was issued and I’ve done quite a few portraits. My best one is without a doubt, a portrait of Boris Cavazza, the legend of Slovenian theater. Recently his biography was published and his life’s story under pen of writer Vesna Milek is extraordinary indeed! It was sould out three times and eventually I’m sure it’ll be translated into English.

This portraits I’ve done with two cameras. Portraits on wet plate collodion on glass plate I’ve done on a Plaubel format 13x18cm and other B/W portraits I’ve done on a Shen Hao G45 format 4×5″. Wet Plate Collodion portrait I’ve done in VIST studio and Darko Sintič was assisting me. THX Dare! The portrait is so dead sharp because I illuminated with flashes. During portraying at Park Zvedza in Ljubljana, a photographer Marko Šinkovec came by and took few behind the shoot images. THX Marko!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great portrait indeed! But what actually means the best portrait…? Best model? Best light? Best sharpness? Best feeling..? Word best appears quite often here so it made me wonder…

    matjazz

    3 July, 2012 at 18:33

  2. It’s best feeling that you get from the best photograph. It’s always about feelings. Personal feelings are only objective thing in the world, everything else is relative and therefore subjective.

    Borut Peterlin

    3 July, 2012 at 21:58

  3. [...] I was already blogging on some of these images as I was making them. HERE is the link to the post how I’ve done the portrait of Boris Cavazza. HERE is the link to photo-session [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,981 other followers

