TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Family summer time in 6×6 format

with 3 comments

Few days before with my family we left for summer vacation to a seaside I’ve bought a “new” camera Mamiya C330, so I was excited to try it out. I never liked the square format, as a student and as a young professional, but I guess it’s because square format was a trade mark of Hasselblad, that I couldn’t afford :-)

I looked at my bookshelf, thinking who is a master of square format photography. My first pick was Mary Ellen Mark and her book Indian Circus, then I checked The Hasselblad Masters awards. The Hasselblad awards didn’t inspire me (I can do better), but with Mary Ellen Mark I found some good clues how to deal with the square format.

I was thinking… Square is a stable, boring format and to make the image interesting I must brake this stableness with composition. My first rule was to fill the image with the subject all the way to the borders and even across the border. That was the idea for the picture published above and on the left side. OK, I admit, I didn’t discover America, but playing with concepts and aesthetics is inevitably leading us to new “discoveries” as I call personal micro revelations :-)

Second inspiration was the book On Photography by Susan Sontag. I’ve read it twice, but that was some time ago, so why not follow the Atheism 2.0 commandment to repeat the lessons over and over again. It’s the basis of every religion so it must make sense. While reading Sontag’s words on how photography is surreal, the most appropriate medium for modernistic art, I understood everything. World make sense if viewed through a lens of a camera.

Last but not least, this adventure back to black and white analog photography is bringing good old memories from Prague’s Famu Academy where I earned my BA in photography. I know I’m repeating some lessons from history of photography, but I don’t do it because of the love towards the history, but I’m doing it for the love of photography and to the love to my family. More of my Family Album project you can see on my site www.borutpeterlin.com.This is not the end result it’s just warming up! I’m inspired as Apollo 11 rocket!

PS: Under comment leave a link to a site of a photographer who work in an inventive way with a square medium format camera. I want to grasp as much info as I can.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very interesting! I have always loved the square format, and have some difficultys composing in the rectangle format. The square slows me down, I have to “stay” here, in this square. In the rectangle format things kinda happends to fast, it is sometimes too dynamic for me.
    I think it doesn’t have so much to do with the camera, it has more to do with what kind of person you are.
    I do have a Hassie, yes, but I also love my Holga, and trying real hard to get to know my Diana too. For me, the square is the optimal choise. Maybe I’m a “squarish” kind of person, and maybe you are much more dynamic, and that’s why you preferr the rectangle.
    This is very interesting, and I’m so looking forward to see more of your squares! :-)
    I do like your challenge, good luck!

    LightHouseBlues

    27 August, 2012 at 10:28

  2. vav, izjemne fotke (tako kot vedno), prav ponosna sem! :) moram priznati da s kvadratnim formatom še nisem delala in imam občutek, da zna biti kar težko – sploh ker je trend da rinemo v vse bolj ozke formate. tako da so te fotke pravi balzam za uč in dejansko opažam da sem pri tem formatu (tudi kot gledalka/opazovalka) dosti bolj osredotočena na kompozicijo. Zelo zanimivo, veselim se novih fotk! ;)

    valerijazabret

    28 August, 2012 at 00:58

  3. lovely 6×6…i always liked that format and also the academic film format. never had a 6×6 camera though…maybe i’ll get an old rolleiflex…anyway lovely pictures…your girls look beautiful

    jc

    29 August, 2012 at 15:42


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,917 other followers

