TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Grasping my stride with this post

with one comment

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sorry, I haven’t been posting for a very long time. I think I will in the future post more frequent and shorter posts. I hate this kind of report what was going on last couple of weeks. Then again I would hate if I wouldn’t share this experience on the blog.

The strangest thing happened with my wet plate collodion chemicals. On Wednesday I’ve made the portrait of Nana Milčinski without a problem and the very next day I couldn’t make a decent picture. It took me more then a week to figure out what went wrong and I’ve burned lots of nerves. I’m not going to go into chemical details, but I’m happy I’ve solved the problem. Luckily if a wet plate gets all dirty and full of stains, you can call it an art and you get away with it. You can see the stains and fog that is appearing on some pictures. I’m happy that I’ve resolved the problem/s and on the end of the day I’ve learned a lot. Really a lot. I’m finally at the stage that when a problem occurs I can systematically find it and resolve it.

The worst thing was that this problems were occurring when I had to do a demonstration of a wet plate collodion technique on two photo-fairs in Maribor and in Zagreb. Very stressful! Oh… I’ve bought a tent Eskimo QuickFish 3 and now I have a mobile darkroom. It’s very good, although joints are not strong enough so I’ve asked my friend to reinforce them. BUt it’s a joy to work in it. I set it up in 40 seconds!
548211_10151052982920216_418245412_n 425800_10151098848651523_1255112315_n Photo: Goran Katić

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So very beautiful images, as always!

    LightHouseBlues

    16 October, 2012 at 09:27


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,960 other followers

