TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Two good things about recession & Art

with 7 comments

My first 10×12″ wet plate collodion taken with Vageswari camera and lens Voigtlander 300mm f/4,5.

I’m working really hard these months. I know that December will be more easy going and that January will be dead month in commercial work, so I work literally triple jobs. Anyhow, I still take an hour here and there and make something for myself! I finally made my first 10×12″ (25x30cm) plate! It’s not that difficult at all! Actually it’s easier because a dust dot looks really really tiny, comparing to the same size dot on a 4×5″ plate. I’m really happy, a step forward! Actually this wetplate was a birthday gift from me to myself. I know… weird…

This are hard times if you want to make a living from art. I don’t know about you, but I’ve noticed that nobody buys my art this days. I got frustrated, but then I realized that if nobody will buy my art and I need to fund it from my own pocket, I can make the art that I like and don’t care what others think! Ha, that’s really liberating. I thought I don’t care what others feel about my art, but that can’t be true, if I got frustrated because my art-work wasn’t funding it’s self. Nevertheless when I do commercial work I feel a strong motif, because I know I will fund my art with this commercial work!

Another good thing is also that I can forget big production costs and once again I can afford without a shame to be modest again! I mean few of my shows in London’s Host Gallery (link) and in Museum of Modern Art in Ljubljana (link), costed a fortune and since I set the benchmark of presentation on quite a high level I got frustrated because I couldn’t afford to exhibit anymore!

Well now recession is here and I feel liberated! I don’t feel embarrassed anymore that I don’t have 2x3meters lambda prints mounted on dibond aluminum boards! I just blame it on the recession and not on my art-career failure, thank you very much!

I’ve made this print as a gift for my aunt. I’m a bit rusty, but I still can do a good print.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Borut, thank you for this article, which realistically and honestly depicts the current situation in the art world, specifically in the self-employed/freelance section..
    Thank you for all your posts on my FB and beautiful photographs.
    Wishing you all the good luck in your professional and family life.
    Kind regards. Tiana.

    tiana

    17 November, 2012 at 09:28

  2. This must be a very hard time to make a living from art… Good thing you have your commercial work!
    I don’t think people have time for art, these days everything is so stressful and hard for everyone, so art and other good things in life don’t seem to fit in really…. So sad….
    Your work is fantastic, keep it up!

    LightHouseBlues

    17 November, 2012 at 11:20

  3. Nice post. Looking forward to seeing more of your wet plate work now.

    Gordon

    17 November, 2012 at 13:21

  4. Thank you guys for commenting! Next week a long-term workshop with Klavdij Sluban starts and I look very much forward. Klavdij won many awards among others also European Publishers Award 2009! But more about that after the workshop.

    Borut Peterlin

    18 November, 2012 at 11:07

  5. what kind of shampoo do you use?

    jc

    20 November, 2012 at 12:29

  6. Thank you for your question JC, because my youngest daughter brought lices from kindergarten, so past week we were all washing out hair with Parasidose. FOr a successful artistic career, buy http://www.Parasidose.si! It helped me! I feel so much better now!

    Borut Peterlin

    20 November, 2012 at 12:39

  7. Super fotka na steklu! Se res dobro vkomponirajo tista odstopanja sloja na nebu.

    Tina Umer

    21 November, 2012 at 23:01


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,959 other followers

