TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

My first year in Wet Plate Collodion process

with 4 comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I can’t believe that on 26th of November 2011 I’ve made my first wet plate collodion picture on the workshop of Miša Keskenović and Uglješa Dapčević! I have a feeling I’ve been doing it for ever. I hope I will be doing it. Or at least until death do us apart. In this year I’ve learned so much, I rediscovered passion toward photography and reinvented my photographical career. I’ve spent whole a lot of money for cameras, material and education, but it was damn worth it. Now I have five large format cameras, a Durst 138s enlarger, mobile darkroom / tent and so on. Over all, I’m devoted to photography from age 11, that’s 27 years. In the following year I have so much projects and so much fun to be realized!

k-portret-jansa20121126-email

This is my today’s portrait that will be published in next Mladina weekly. Janez Janša is Slovenian Prime Minister that is accused and prosecuted of bribery by Slovenian court and the accusations are supported by evidence of Finnish and Austrian police and also wikileaks stated that CIA came to the same conclusions. To make long story short, Prime Minister Janša could easily be compared with ex-Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi. Three artists renamed themselves to Janez Janša as a protest against his politic and his methods of governing. This portrait of Janez Janša (performance artist) is inspired by the question on his T-shirt. I had a completely different idea, we even visited Opera house and checked their wardrobe and other theatrical elements, but then I simplify it to the level that remained only a poster with height measures that is a part of every good mug shot, his T-shirt and his expression.

Technological process is identical as I used it on the portrait of Milan Erič with addition that I broke the glass plate and rescan it. I will make a video how do I brake it, because I have a good method how to brake the glass above the flame. It’s more under control that you think. I need to go to bed, tomorrow I’m teaching portrait photography in Italian Gorizia.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on your wonderful year. Every visit here is a revelation. Thanks for posting all your superb work Borut.

    John Smith

    27 November, 2012 at 02:09

  2. Yes, congrats Borut! Keep it up, visiting your site always makes me feel so inspired!

    LightHouseBlues

    27 November, 2012 at 10:54

  3. Super fotka! :-)

    a5

    27 November, 2012 at 11:31

  4. Oh, I forgot to mention that in this year I’ve made like 500 plates! I’m obsessed!

    Borut Peterlin

    8 December, 2012 at 01:04


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,001 other followers

