TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Advanced far out darkroom technique in black & white photography

with 2 comments

Jure Henigman, an actor, portrayed by Borut Peterlin

Jure Henigman, an actor, portrayed by Borut Peterlin


From Mladina weekly magazine I was commisioned to do a portrait of an actor, Jure Henigman. I’ve already made a portrait of him in 2008 with Zvezdana Mlakar, but I was planning to do something completely different. First of all we’ve met at the parking lot in Ribnica and my first resolution was, no background, just the face and expression. I’m always impressed how an actor can make a story (photograph in my case) just with an expression. I brought my newly made headrest stand about which I was blogging already. A friend and colleague from Ribnica Luka Ileršič show up and show started. He took behind the scene images. I’ve portrayed Jure facing a church, because I liked the light coming from behind. I used ShenHao 4×5″ camera with Rodenstock 210mm lens + a yellow filter. Yellow filter is perfect for B&W portraits I love it! The secret of series Family Album is in a yellow filter!

When I got home the true adventure really started and I’ve made a video about it. I hope you’ll like my exploration of photography down the rabbit hole.
.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. odličen portret in video! všeč mi je :)

    valerijazabret

    3 January, 2013 at 10:17

  2. Great video!! I just looked at it, and I’m inspired, yes!!
    In a couple of weeks I’ll have my own new darkroom, happy days are here again! :-D

    LightHouseBlues

    16 January, 2013 at 11:07


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,917 other followers

