TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

A giant leap in my Wet Plate Collodion process / negative and ambrotype

with 4 comments

20130317_1459-2

I’m still working hard on Wet Plate Collodion process, but negative on glass, not positive – an ambrotype. Two days ago I gave myself a challenging task. To do a nice wetplate negative in challenging conditions. I set up my darkroom tent in a park near my house, choose one motif, two view cameras and devote eight hours to make a good ambrotype and a good negative. It’s still winter in this corner of the world (Slovenia,EU), so I mixed my chemicals for -1⁰C temperature, but in my tent there was + 5C, so developing was quite demanding. Nevertheless it was a good day. Very good!

Print for sale. Size 30x40cm, FomaBrom baryt paper, toned with sodium sulfide and sellenium toners. Bidding auction on ebay. [/caption] Today I’ve printed the wet plate negative, format 5×7″, on a classic gelatine photographic paper. I was doing tests what combination of paper, exposure and toning works best. I decided to go for split toning with sodium sulfide for highlights and selenium toner for shadows. The toning increases stability of silver, so it will remain like this for at least a century. This print was done on FomaBrom fiber based paper, size 30x40cm (12×16″). All process were done by museum archival standards. I’m selling this print on ebay – LINK. Still learning how this ebay works, so I’m opening a bidding auction. This goes for the first print in edition of 12. Rock and Roll!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats to my adventurous friend. Nothing stops him!

    John Fink Jr.

    18 March, 2013 at 17:56

  2. This is great!

    tamibahatphotography

    26 March, 2013 at 23:06

  3. Hi there, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this blog post.
    It was helpful. Keep on posting!

    target practice shooting

    12 July, 2013 at 13:53

  4. […] a print on ebay, as an auction starting from $0.99 USD and after 5 days it was sold for $111 USD (LINK). Few weeks later an auction for the second print won $182 USD (LINK). These two sales were just a […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,012 other followers

