TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

A cold, but good wetplate day (no April fools joke :-)

with 5 comments

Dolina reke Krke

Dolina reke Krke

Today was a good day. I was preparing yesterday several hours, cleaning plates, subbing them with albumen, calibrating chemicals, mixing fresh developer, getting gear together, nevertheless I succeed to forgot my plate holder at home, but luckily I’m shooting my neighborhood so I drove back home and picked it up. It was cold again! Zero degrees Celsius! I prepared stronger developer and for wetplate negative the sensitization was 7 minutes. I wanted to be eight, but I was getting some weird pimples on my plates. I’ve never seen anything like it. It’s because of albumen, low temperature, collodion drying, thin collodion film, longer sensitisation in silvernitrate and stuff, I know, but lesson learned, for the next time I’ll be subbing only edges of plates with albumen.

I’ve done several plates, but with these two wetplate negatives and I’m very happy. Working in this conditions it’s hard, especially doing a negative, but the results that wetplate negative is delivering is justifying all the pain.

As you’ve noticed, I’ve redone the image of a tree trunk in the water. The image from the earlier post was done with Kodak Folding Brownie and I wasn’t satisfied, so this time I used my Schneider Kreuznach Tele-Xenar lens 500mm f/5.5. I like it a lot!

PS: By the way, this Saturday, 6th of April, I’m working in Josip Pelikan studio and if you want, I will make you a portrait.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent .

    elmediat

    1 April, 2013 at 22:33

  2. That tree really reminds me of a piece of art I created! you can see it at http://interopia.com/2012/12/27/halfroot/

    interopia

    1 April, 2013 at 23:03

  3. Beautiful images!
    All the best
    Peter

    Peter Kamp Knudsen

    1 April, 2013 at 23:06

  4. Lovely art, Iteropia. Yes, the tree is about to be more photographed. I don’t have a wide angle lens for 5×7″ camera, so I’m using the same lens, 300mm, but on 10×12″ camera and I make a wide angle lens. I’m planning to take a decent picture with the castle above.

    Borut Peterlin

    1 April, 2013 at 23:27

  5. Borut, you are really getting this cold weather process down.
    Beautiful results despite all these challenges.
    Like you mentioned earlier, soon we’ll be dealing with hot temps and all that comes with it.

    John Fink Jr.

    2 April, 2013 at 03:47


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,002 other followers

