TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Flooded tree in wet plate collodion negative

with 11 comments

A flooded tree by river Krka. This is a digital scan from Wet Plate Collodion negative, format 5x7". Photograph taken with (modified) Plaubel Peco camera and Voigtlander Heliar 300mm, f4.5, lens. Exposure 10 seconds at f/16.

A flooded tree by river Krka. This is a digital scan from Wet Plate Collodion negative, format 5×7″. Photograph taken with (modified) Plaubel Peco camera and Voigtlander Heliar 300mm, f4.5, lens. Exposure 10 seconds at f/16.

Two days ago I saw this flooded tree and I knew immediately it will look good on picture, but there was too much water, I couldn’t come near the tree. Yesterday I saw the water level has fallen, but didn’t had time to make the picture and on other hand I knew the flood will be gone by tomorrow, so today I decided to make the picture. Only problem was that I had to work in Ljubljana, to make half a dozen on location portraits for Mladina weekly. OK, I did it with digital camera, but still a lot of work. I decided I have an hour to make the collodion image, no more. I drove to the place, set up the tent, made a test and then also the plate. All that in 42 minutes. I cleaned the set up and head to digital work.

Work set up. //// Delovno okolje

Work set up. //// Delovno okolje

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your Eskimo tent! Still debating buying it or not. How did you solve the light leaks? With liquid tape?

    Great plates btw, love the landscapes. Hope to get out there soon again myself!

    best Indra

    Contrastique

    4 April, 2013 at 21:53

  2. Ciao Indra,
    Light leaks are there but they are not a big problem. I will fix that soon :-)
    I have only one or half a window with red filter open. I noticed that is bigger problem. Otherwise I’m satisfied with the tent. Fast and if you take care of it is solid enough. I reinforced stitches at joints, since that was a problem in the past. Good luck.

    Borut Peterlin

    4 April, 2013 at 22:01

  3. Beautiful image Borut.
    I wonder if that car driving by thought you were ice fishing:-)

    John Fink Jr.

    4 April, 2013 at 22:05

  4. John, I don’t know what the driver was thinking, but I can tell you I’m used to expressions of amazement and suspiciousness :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    4 April, 2013 at 22:17

  5. Yeah well, ISO 1 huh, how bad can it be ;-) I figured it would require some modding but it is so fast to put up. Quite different from my growing tent. Oh well..I will keep on thinking about it a little more until I will buy it in the end anyway ;-)

    Contrastique

    4 April, 2013 at 22:40

  6. Indra make yourself a darkbox! Mark Osterman is making disposable dark-boxes from cardboards. I have one, small one that I love dearly :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    4 April, 2013 at 22:48

  7. Wonderful plate, Borut. I do like your landscapes!!
    For your Eskimo windows, have you tried Rubylith? I’ve just received mine but didn’t have the time yet to convert it in darkroom!

    Ana Tornel

    5 April, 2013 at 10:04

  8. I got my gelatin filters from Rosco, it’s what they use in film industry. It’s not as good as a safelight filter.

    Borut Peterlin

    5 April, 2013 at 10:09

  9. Yeah, I also have a darkbox home made from plywood. It works fine. When going by car this is a nice thing to use, especially now I want to focus on making negatives = smaller size. When I go out with my bike it’s a bit clumsy to drag along ;-)

    Contrastique

    5 April, 2013 at 18:53

  10. Wetplate on a bike? I would like to see the workflow on that. It must demand a lot of talent :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    6 April, 2013 at 06:45

  11. Haha well, it merely requires a bike ;-) Here are two links to the first two shoots outside using my bike:

    http://contrastique.wordpress.com/2010/04/13/first-outside-shoot/

    http://contrastique.wordpress.com/2010/04/26/docu-of-st-pieter-berg-collodion-shoot/

    I have to say a bike is fun but using a car is more practical ;-)

    Contrastique

    12 April, 2013 at 09:33


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,953 other followers

