TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Today’s wetplate session in Josip Pelikan skylight’s studio

with 5 comments

Christoph Staber, a photography student from Graz, Austria, portrayed in Studio Pelikan by Borut Peterlin. 6.4.2013, Celje, Slovenia, EU.

Christoph Staber, a photography student from Graz, Austria, portrayed in Studio Pelikan by Borut Peterlin. 6.4.2013, Celje, Slovenia, EU.

Here’s today’s portrait in Josip Pelikan skylight studio. The studio was built in 1898 and Josip Pelikan was working in it from 1920 to his death 1977. Now it’s a part of Museum of Recent History Celje.

On the plate I have some lines from not perfectly cleaned plate. I cleaned it several days ago and I thought it’ll be OK, but after few days, a plate in a box, needs to be cleaned again. I like it as it is but I strive to achieve Quinn’s perfection and then scratch it if I want :-)
Those edges are from albumen coating, because I had that box prepared for wetplate negative. Nevertheless it’s kind of cool, I might use the effect in the future.

Below there is a wet plate collodion negative format 10×12″ (25x30cm), digitally inverted into positive. I wanted that everything would be sharp, so I had an exposure of 15 minutes at aperture f/32. It’s cool one, although I knew at the time that perfect exposure would be 25min, but I was afraid that the plate would get dry. It was quite warm in the studio.

The portrait was done with modified Plaubel Peco 5×7″ camera and Voigtlander Heliar 300mm f/4,5. Exposure 6 seconds, f/4.5

The studio was photographed with Vageeswari 10×12″ camera and same Voigtlander Heliar 300mm f/4,5. Exposure 15 minutes, f/32.

PS: Do you see the difference between collodion negative picture and the digital one? I didn’t notice that while I was developing the plate the keeper of the gallery changed a small detail and I don’t mean my 4×5″ camera. Leave a comment Internet!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like some cameras were switched and moved.
    Nice portrait too. I like the border. It fits with the rest of the spirit of the picture.
    The student sort off has that ice skater look about him, so the scratch marks go with the skates:-)

    John Fink Jr.

    7 April, 2013 at 04:03

  2. No, no, cameras are just as they were, they are heavy so I’m moving them. It’s much more simple and obvious thing. hint: right in the center of the picture.

    Borut Peterlin

    7 April, 2013 at 09:01

  3. Haha, the vase has been replaced ;-)

    Contrastique

    8 April, 2013 at 18:37

  4. Indra for president!
    This happened unintentionally :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    9 April, 2013 at 07:55

  5. I’m glad that I visited this blog. It is so good.

    wrikfw@yahoo.com

    11 March, 2014 at 01:17


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,953 other followers

