TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

How to make Eskimo QuickFish tent lightproof

with 3 comments


.
This is my advise how to make the tent lightproof. At European Collodion Weekend I saw Kal Khogali and his tent. It was pitch dark. I mean Kal is dark, but his tent is even more :-) Since I lost quite some time in figuring out why my plates are foggy I decided to save you some time and make a tutorial video about it. I received a tip by Alex Timmermans how to seal door more easily. I quote him:

For the light leaks at the door, just buy some light proof fabric. On one side stich some metal plates, throw it on front of the door (outside) and use some magnets on the inside. Now you have very easy to remove lightproof door cover.

I’ve made that video after fixing my tent, so this is a bonus lesson. Tent has two three weaknesses in design. First one is that canvas is getting light leaking holes with usage, second weakness is where the rod touches the floor, I had a puncture on that canvas and had to reinforce it, third is where canvas touches joint in the middle of every wall. As you can see canvas didn’t hold the pressure from the joint and the joint lost the grip with the canvass. I reinforced that easily. Just check images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Borut Peterlin

9 June, 2013 at 21:06

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for sharing that Borut, wonderful solutions! I’m still debating whether getting this (or more, when). I love that the zipper is on the inside and that it unfolds so easily practically on its own.

    I do have a question:
    Why not sew / stitch the lightproof cover door to the tent on the outside? The possible small holes it might cause you can always tape up using gaffer tape or some sort. Just wondering..;-)

    Contrastique

    23 June, 2013 at 16:55

  2. hm, if you would stich a cover above it, you would curse it every time you would like to zip the zipper. It would get caught in it. Plus new holes with sewing. I found a better solution, I have a large textile as a curtain in front of it. You could see it briefly in on my newest video.

    Borut Peterlin

    23 June, 2013 at 17:00

  3. Ah yes, good idea. If I saw it correctly you have the curtain hanging inside the tent?

    Contrastique

    23 June, 2013 at 22:24


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,953 other followers

