TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Klemen Slakonja, wet plate portait

with 4 comments

Portrait taken on 4x5" camera with petzval lens, exposed on wet plate collodion plate. This is retouched version, I retouched his face from the film negative I've recorded.

Portrait taken on 4×5″ camera with petzval lens, exposed on wet plate collodion plate. This is retouched version, I retouched his face from the film negative I’ve recorded.

Klemen Slakonja is an actor and rising star of TV show business in Slovenia. Few weeks ago I had to make his portrait, but it was raining. I decided to do the portrait in wet plate collodion just the same. Under rain, no sweat! OK, it was just sprinkling rain, but on the end of the shoot I was all wet. I got used to that, actually. Wet wet plate photographer, why not! I arrived half an hour before the shoot, mix the developer and prepare first plate. We exposed it, but when I wanted to develop it I knock the glass beaker off the table and it crashed in front of us.

Klemen was kind enough to wait that I’ve mixed the developer again, but I didn’t filter it, i didn’t had time for that. Plate was fogged so his face wasn’t recognizable. I’ve repeat the portrait with the same camera, Linhof lens and I was exposing normal B&W film. At home I scanned the collodion plate, scanned the film negative and photoshoped that his face was recognizable. Lucky for me, I know all sorts of photography, so if I’m forced to, I use every possible tool to deliver a good portrait to a reader of Mladina weekly magazine. After all the stress, the picture looked fantastic in the printed magazine and it’s one of my favorites.

Perhaps you might wonder why have I portray Klemen as a cowboy. Let me quote Andy Warhol: “I don’t know.”

PS: In less then two hours an auction for my salt print is finishing on ebay. LINK.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha, he seems to be missing his “six shooters” :-)
    Cool portrait.

    John Fink Jr.

    28 June, 2013 at 00:14

  2. Very Cool! Nice work!

    realitysosubtle

    28 June, 2013 at 09:03

  3. So let me clarify. A six shooter is a slang term for a six bullet pistol. Since the subject reminded me of an old American West law man, he looked like he was ready to draw his pistols in a gun fight.

    John Fink Jr.

    29 June, 2013 at 00:39

  4. Yes, didn’t understood the six shooter metaphor, or I understood you are referring to a movie or a movie scene. I know, the gun would make the image even better, but I didn’t have one, so this was the second best concept :-)
    thx!

    Borut Peterlin

    29 June, 2013 at 07:48


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,953 other followers

