TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

My last creative portrait for Mladina weekly

with 8 comments

Zora Stančič, an artist

Zora Stančič, an artist

Today is an important day in my career. After almost eight years I finished my regular collaboration with Mladina weekly. I mean I will still be doing a cover here and there and some special issue, but the collaboration on weekly basis has ended. The main reason is that my work for Mladina involves travel expenses from my home to Ljubljana and back and when I started the job as photoeditor in year 2006, fuel was half the price. I resigned the desk job in 2011 (if I remember correctly. Maybe was 2010?) to work and earn my living as an active photographer. At the time I was desperate to recalibrate my career to go back to photography. I mean have I study photography in Prague, Italy, UK and payed for it a fortune, just to sit behind computer and edit images that I knew I could have done better? It was fun to ride the camera, but the travel expenses grew whereas photojournalistic salary is much lower then editor’s, so at the peak of recession I’ve realized it’s just not worth the money anymore.

That’s one out of the three reasons.

Second one is that I got in love with photography again, processes that were practiced in 19th Century, Wet Plate Collodion and Salt printing process to highlight just two. Intimately I feel this is the path that I need to take, but with day job in Ljubljana I just couldn’t find enough time to pursue the path.

Third reason was fear. I feared that I will finish my career at Mladina in some car accident. In 7,5 years on the road I avoided many accidents and witnessed many many more. Although I’m safe driver in about 18 years as a driver I had only one accident and even that wasn’t my fault! But still I was afraid this was destined to me. Now I finished the job and I’m so happy that I was wrong about that.

What’s next? The bad news is that I’ve jumped out of the plane without a parachute. I have no safe employee in my sight, that’s for sure. The good news is that I think I know how to fly. Well at least I should know! If who, then I should be the one to know how to earn a living from photography! I have many business ideas! One is about to be tested in 6h 26m 27s (Jun 27, 2013 15:25:38 PDT)! On ebay I’m auctioning a print. When I put this print on auction I didn’t know that week later I will finish this chapter of my life and it’s very symbolic that it’s ending today!

And now to the image above. Zora Stančič is very successful Slovenian artist recognized widely and she’s expressing herself mostly trough graphic arts. When I look back to my first creative portrait in Mladina weekly, that was Melita Zajc in year 2006, I look back with a content on the path I’ve taken and the work I’ve done.

Tomorrow’s a new day! I so much look forward!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, Borut, great decision. Welcome to the world of artistic empowerment and financial insecurity! I know that your work will be very successful. And I am still bidding on your piece on ebay!!

    Billie Williams

    27 June, 2013 at 18:36

  2. Brave decision, good luck and most importantly, enjoy your life!

    Contrastique

    27 June, 2013 at 18:43

  3. Good luck! =)

    gasperpintaric

    27 June, 2013 at 19:19

  4. Thank you, I know it’s the right decision. And good luck to you Billie. Print no: 2 from the edition was sent today to a French Art dealer, perhaps she could sell it in Tokyo photo-art fair.

    Borut Peterlin

    27 June, 2013 at 19:36

  5. I know it’s trivial, but I wish you good luck. You’re smart and you deserve it!

    Ana Tornel

    27 June, 2013 at 20:11

  6. good luck my friend.Safe travels.

    Gordon

    27 June, 2013 at 20:47

  7. It’s always hard to leave the security behind, but you have your collodion wings and are gonna soar.
    Great luck to you and cheers to the future.

    John Fink Jr.

    28 June, 2013 at 00:12

  8. […] after I quit my long-term job as a photojournalist, I’m raising stakes on my art career. I have the best possible education a photographer could […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,978 other followers

