TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Portraying passion is back

with 5 comments

Sorry for not blogging for a while. You must understand me, I quit my job of photojournalist where I was working for almost 8 years and was working my ass off to provide income elsewhere. And proudly I must say I managed to find a job that is much better paid, so I’m sorted for next 12 months!

Nevertheless I miss weekly portraits assignments so if somebody is interested to be portrayed by my genius in the bottle, just rub my email address.

Few days ago I was playing around with negative wet plate process and I wanted to see if my month old albumen solution got bad and how does it reflect on the plate. It’s important to recognize an error and it’s pattern. Here are two results. I love them both. Not sure if because my daughters are on the pictures or do they have some attraction to you to?

Images that follow are cleaner. I was cleaning my plates with very diluted nitric acid and I doubt that there will be any effect, but it was. I got very clean plates. I also give it a try of Miša Keskenović receipt for a quickclear collodion. Miša started to modify a receipt from Eder and adjust it for quickclear usage. It is based on three salts, NH4I, CdI2 and CdBr2. It’s rich in iodides and very sharp, very contrasty, very thick. Actually it was too thick for this weather, so I got crepe lines. I love it :-) Obviously it’s not forgiving to work with the collodion, but it is rewarding when everything goes well. For more info read the description of an image.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice work, B5. Thanks for the 3-salt QC recipe too!

    Gerald

    14 July, 2013 at 01:17

  2. Glad you are back and glad you are doing well.

    kceames

    14 July, 2013 at 01:38

  3. Nice nice nice!

    John Fink Jr.

    15 July, 2013 at 17:00

  4. Lovely portraits! I specially like the one with the four kids!

    Nivea

    15 July, 2013 at 17:46

  5. Wonderful portraits!

    Marie

    20 July, 2013 at 16:32


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,950 other followers

