TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Raising stakes on my art career

with 2 comments

Books that I've done with my photography. These are mainly handmade books.

Books that I’ve done with my photography from 1993 to nowadays. These are mainly handmade books and not all of them are in my possession.

Now, after I quit my long-term job as a photojournalist, I’m raising stakes on my art career. I have the best possible education a photographer could wish, I’ve graduated at Prague’s FAMU Academy, was working with Oliviero Toscani in Fabrica (UC of Benetton) and did my postgraduate studies at London College of Printing. On top of that I’ve took workshops with Martin Parr, Duane Michals, Steven Gill, Francesco Zizola, George Georgiou, Vanessa Winship, Joel Peter Witkin, Paul Graham, Pep Bonet, Paul Lowe, Klavdij Sluban and many others.

On top of that I was living together with nowadays stars of contemporary photography. My roommate was James Mollison at Fabrica and in my class at LCP 2002/03 was Olivia Arthur (Magnum agency) and Leonie Purchas, last but not least at Colors Magazine I was working also with Oliver Chanarin and Adam Broomberg, to mention just a few.

After my postgraduate studies in London I got my first child and I came back home, build a house and got my second child. It was brilliant decision, to establish family while being young, but I must admit that career wise I got stuck. And when you get stuck in a stuck country like Slovenia, then you feel like an oversized solid shit that can not get through.

Nevertheless this current recession brought me to a liberating thought. All jobs are paid next thing to nothing, so why not get paid next thing to nothing, for something that I’m crazy passionate and addicted to, that’s photography! My idea of photography!

My ideal medium for photography is a book. I love making books. I handmade more then dozen two dozens books. I decided that I’ll raise a stake on my art career and drop in the party through the back door. I will make a book on my best project Flower Power! Next week I’m getting an advice from Klavdij Sluban on that. The man won European Publishers Award for Photography in 2009, so I’ll get the best guidance I can! In August I’m making a promo video about it. Then I’ll launch it through Kickstarter and by November the book should be on your table!

For those who don’t know the Flower Power project, here’s a short sinopsis. Flower Power series is a personal rebellion against politics and news-photojournalistic-safaris dictated by well oiled public relation machine. In my images I’m instead of glorifying politicians, focusing on plants and degrading politicians on disturbing backgrounds. Here are some recent Flower Power images that I haven’t publish them yet, the best off collection you can see on my site.

May the Flower Power be with me and you!

Written by Borut Peterlin

20 July, 2013 at 11:42

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Try indiegogo.com

    Iztok Umek

    20 July, 2013 at 13:25

  2. Why not do something your crazy passionate about! Best of luck.

    David Mahlow

    21 July, 2013 at 18:17


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,934 other followers

