TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Monetizing wet plate collodion process

with 4 comments

A toned salt print from a wet plate collodion negative.

20130820_0745

As you can imagine this wet plate process is not cheap and as a professional photographer I need and want to make a living with wet plate collodion process. I’m presenting two commercial projects in which I find great potential and as always want to share with you.

In collaboration with Gallery Fotografija from Ljubljana I was assigned to make a business gift for Riko company. I photographed Škrabčeva domačija museum in wet plate collodion glass negative and made salt print, toned with gold chloride. It is awesome and I’ve sold it to Riko. From the print we’ve made an edition of 300 inkjet prints on hahnemuele photorag paper and presented in a folder as you see it. The inkjet printing, the presentation and the folder was designed and made by Luminus company.

20130509-hisa-puharjeva

Second assignment came from a known Slovenian curator. She hired me to photograph the house of her father in law. I’ve made 5×7″ wet plate collodion ambrotype. An interesting detail is that the house stands in the Puhar street in Ljubljana. Janez Puhar was an inventor who invented photography on glass in year 1843. Unfortunately nobody replicated the porcess after his death. Anyway the gift was a total success.

If you want to hire me to make on-location photograph of you or your house or do whatever in wet plate collodion process, I charge 150 EUR for the first plate and next plates are 30 EUR each. Email me for inquiry.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I ♥ this!

    Gerald Figal

    21 August, 2013 at 04:13

  2. Thank you Gerald. These are really not proper time and place to make a living from art, since Slovenia is undergoing huge recession, revealing huge systematic corruption and we have unemployment like in the year 1993 when there was war in former Yugoslavia and Slovenia lost the market and had to orient towards west. Sure, I will not get rich, I’m just doing my best to keep my head above water…

    Borut Peterlin

    21 August, 2013 at 08:37

  3. Gerald,
    I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while. I always check each week to see if you have added anything new. I started salt printing from collodion negatives a month ago and it has been a slow process for sure! Your salt prints are beautiful and you seem to have really mastered the process! Thanks for providing all your information and technique, it’s much appreciated!
    Jeff

    jeff

    30 August, 2013 at 14:48

  4. Dear Jeff,
    thank you for following me and thx for leaving a comment. Now I got an opportunity to check your site as well and it’s great! I love the Mining Country series! Oh, it’s so inspiring, especially now when I’m focusing on the exhibition on Great Depression 1912-13.
    I must do more salt printing, I know!
    Thank you!
    B5

    Borut Peterlin

    31 August, 2013 at 10:46


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,953 other followers

