TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Two book covers by your favourite topshit photographer

with 5 comments

Here are two book covers I’ve done last month. OK, the philosopher Slavoj Žižek I photographed in 2008 (the blog post), but Danish publisher Samfunds Letteratur recently bought my portrait of Slavoj for the cover of Den nyttige idiot book.

Založba Goga hired me to make a cover of the newest book of rewarded writer Tadej Golob. I had completely open hands. The story is about a recreational boxer that is beaten by life, but he refuse and does not fall. It’s not a book about a champion, it’s a book about a fighter who fights in a ring called everyday life.

My concept for the cover was it has to look raw. Not brutal, but raw. Very raw. I do Muay Thai (Thai Boxing) and I have two pairs of boxing gloves, but mine are modern King boxing gloves, so it took me a while to find one that fited my idea. Of course I’ve done the cover in wet plate collodion technique with an old petzval lens on 4×5″ format to achieve the beautiful rawness.

With the same concept I’ve made the portrait of a writer Tadej Golob.

A cover page of a book Ali boma ye by a writer Tadej Golob, published by Založba Goga

A cover page of a book Ali boma ye by a writer Tadej Golob, published by Založba Goga


20131017-tadej-golob

A cover of a book of a philosopher Slavoj Žižek by publishing house Samfunds Letteratur

A cover of a book of a philosopher Slavoj Žižek by publishing house Samfunds Letteratur

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Real nice work Borut. The look of these images very much relate to this sport.
    Excellent portrait!

    johnfinkjrphotography

    20 October, 2013 at 23:18

  2. Tremendous work, as ever, Borut. I was particularly blown away by the boxing gloves image. So strong, and hugely evocative. More, Borut, more!

  3. Thank you Melanie and John, I’m glad you like them. I want to make a large glass negative before I’ll return them :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    21 October, 2013 at 10:46

  4. Great photo of those gloves! You definitely succeeded with the “raw look”.

    Marko @ Travel Photo Blogging

    21 October, 2013 at 16:39

  5. Ohh, I like these, beautiful!! Congrats, great work!!

    Marie

    22 October, 2013 at 12:29


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,827 other followers

