TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Individual topshit workshop

with 6 comments

Benjamin and B5 an individual workshop at Josip Pelikan Skylight Studio

Benjamin and B5 an individual workshop at Josip Pelikan Skylight Studio

Benjamin saw my videos on youtube and decided to learn wet plate collodion process so he drove from Switzerland for an individual workshop with me. It was great three days. We were doing basic wet plate collodion ambrotypes, wet plate collodion negatives, salt printing and then for fun we were doing also collodion transfer to paper and to his sketch book cover. Mark Osterman from George Eastman House museum explained that the name for this transfers is actually Pannotype. We were mixing and testing different collodions, silver baths with different pH, different developers, changing exposure with development times. The result of that kind of workshop torture is a surprising finding that a plate that was illuminated by 30% less could look brighter if developed with less developer in a perfect way.

My way of teaching is to use one motif and keep on photographing it focusing on one aspect of the process. Most demanding part of the workshop was wet plate negative. I’ve mixed new negative collodion, raised pH of silverbath to 4.9pH and with this I raised sensibility of collodion process, so I could make a portrait of Benjamin in wet plate collodion negative with f/11, t=4s. I portrayed him outdoor in shadow. Then we redeveloped the negative and we’ve made a salt print from it. Fun weekend!

If you want to know more about my workshops click on the LINK to my site. Let me just add that with my workshop you get also Mark Osterman’s Collodion manual. I was thinking to write my own instructions (just like everyone else who have 5 min of free time :-) ), but I’ve decided I’ll rather buy bunch of the best collodion manuals and include them in my workshop offer.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, I’d love to come visit you in Slovenia and learn this photographic process in your workshop. It’s too bad I live so far away! Maybe someday…Anyhow, keep up this amazing work : )

    pjbrez

    28 October, 2013 at 06:09

  2. I do love those SALT prints – such texture and presence!

    Lesley

    28 October, 2013 at 11:35

  3. Have you thought about growing a mustache?

    jc

    29 October, 2013 at 16:00

  4. JC! You’re back! Are you still alive or are you still dead? Fantastic! Wonderful things we do these days!
    To answer your question, yes, but I don’t have talent. I also don’t have talent to put a or the in front of certain words…
    But let me use this opportunity to answer with quote of French Waiter. Skip to 2:42

    Borut Peterlin

    30 October, 2013 at 20:27

  5. Interesting stuff. I’m going to have to learn this process one of these days.

    Robert Lowdon

    19 November, 2013 at 00:31

  6. […] in October Benjamin Lind from Switzerland was here for a weekend basic wetplate workshop. Last weekend Davide Nesti and […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,997 other followers

