TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Density of negatives

with 8 comments

Tomorrow I’m flying for Rochester, USA, where I’ll join Mark Osterman‘s workshop of Carbon Printing Transfer. It’s literally a pilgrimage for me (as an atheist), to come to George Eastman House museum and take a workshop with Mark Osterman. I never did a carbon transfer print, I am also not aware to see one although I’ve must have seen a carbon print in various museums I’ve visited, but still it’s described as the king of printing process, so it’s time to meet the king! Mark asked us to bring our own negatives and so yesterday I’ve done negatives of different densities. It’s no secret how it’s done. The same as with ordinary film. As Mark Osterman have taught me, exposure gives you information, development gives you density, so according to this commandment, I overexpose and underdevelop for low contrast and just the opposite for high contrast. (read captions for more info). The highest contrast negative is redeveloped. I’ll not go into details since this is very specific collodion technique. Before I headed for the pilgrimage I’ve done also a salt print, to remind the master Osterman that the king carbon print must make a better print. Ha! I do martial arts and the peak of the training is when you test your skills against your teacher and you get beaten as a sack of beans. No doubt this will be the case also this time. I always aim beyond my reach and then see how will I do. Ha, I so much look forward!!!

But nevertheless the salt print is gorgeous and it will present the best challenge I can make with salt print process against carbon print process. Obnoxious in that kind of creative way I was always been :-)

PS: all reproductions have my dirty finger in the frame as a reference point that it is not digitally altered. Plus the print is dry! It’s not like super cooper wet and when you dry it all the blacks are gone…

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey, borut – welcome to the land of crazies! i know you’ll have fun – but be careful that you don’t need medical care! (ha! just a small joke – or not, i guess.) seriously, happy to have you here even tho you are on the opposite coast.

    billie

    1 November, 2013 at 21:01

  2. Thx, Billie. I will be doing also my 5am project at that coast :-)
    From 2000 I’m making a documentary project entitled 5am, because the concept is to get up at about 4am and photograph what is going on in different parts of the world at 5am. Just now when I was walking my dog out I was thinking about the shooting crime in USA. To make the thing worse I had no second thought whatsoever to photograph at 5am in Sarajevo, Kosovo, east London (Stratford, Leyton,..) and other notorious places. But I was told that Rochester is very European kind of town. ha, ha… stereotypes… USA a promise land for young and healthy. OK and for the rich :-)

    Here is my video on 5am. Some pictures are really badly scanned in year 2000…

    Borut Peterlin

    1 November, 2013 at 21:12

  3. Oh, do I envy you? YES!! :-D
    I hope you’ll having the time of your life, and I’m so much looking forward to hear about the trip later.
    Great post btw, it is very interesting with negative density. Thanks!

    Marie

    2 November, 2013 at 16:05

  4. Ahhh I feel jealous too :-) Have fun and I’m expecting a TopShit write up as soon as you get back!

    Contrastique

    5 November, 2013 at 17:44

  5. hi borut, i tried to watch your 5 a.m. video but it’s saying it’s not there. can you make it reappear? (i know this was from 2 weeks ago but i got sidetracked with life/work/doggies and am just now trying to view it.)

    billie

    19 November, 2013 at 20:38

  6. OK, I’ve fixed the link. i hope it’ll work this time. thx!

    Borut Peterlin

    20 November, 2013 at 01:24

  7. no, still telling me “this video does not exist”…

    billie

    20 November, 2013 at 01:43

  8. […] that are gray as well! I’ve been blogging about contrast and density manipulation before (LINK). The second plate was a perfect negative. The scan did not capture full tonal range and missed […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,019 other followers

