TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Contemporary art project in wet plate collodion and salt print process

with 6 comments


.
Dear topshit readers,
Half a year ago I’ve done an experiment, I’ve sold a print on ebay, as an auction starting from $0.99 USD and after 5 days it was sold for $111 USD (LINK). Few weeks later an auction for the second print won $182 USD (LINK). These two sales were just a test to see how ebay works and what could be done and at what prices a print could be sold. I was very happy to see that it does work. Many people congratulated me for the courage to expose my work full monty to ebay auction, but I was also a target of a critic that the price my prints won, were ridiculous.

What I couldn’t explain to the critics is that it’s not so much about the money, it’s more an experiment how to sell art. I was invited to give a TEDx speech in Ljubljana where I’ll talk to 600 people live and few thousands on-line.

Not to mention the theme how to sell art is the mission impossible here in this corner of the world! I live in Slovenia, that’s the only country in EU (beside Cyprus) that still have recession, (that’s -3% recession!!!) and an art market is totally and utterly DEAD. The most prominent artists are dependent on grants, but I’ve decided to try something different.

I’ve explained everything in the video, I just want to add that the key element of the project is to give all my aces out of my sleeve. The print I’ve done and the way it’s presented is the best way I can. I am not able to do it any better. I wasn’t sparing any money. When I was cutting the glass negative my hands shook. They really did. I couldn’t believe it!

Oh, one more thing. Even though I was satisfied with my first ebay sales I pulled a handle brake and stopped selling my prints. I hit a question that I couldn’t answer. Why would someone buy a print from me for 1000 EUR, if I’m actioning my prints on ebay, starting with $0.99 USD? It took me literally two months to find an answer to that. And it goes like this. I need to make the ebay adventure as an art project by itself. I need to find an unique motif and a concept that will be solely devoted to the ebay auction experiment and by doing that I will protect my other work to be affected by the inflation of the price. I would never sold a print from lets say my best project Flower Power for less than 700 EUR. (which I did to a Dutch collector, long, long time ago…)

HERE is the LINK to the ebay listing. It will end Nov 27, 2013 11:23:04 PST.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Completely inspirational, as ever, Borut! I cannot wait to hear your Ted Talk. Personally speaking, I find your openness and honesty about how you are approaching this project entirely refreshing. I have found it a fascinating thing to watch, and was astonished to hear there have been critics. But then, I guess it takes all kinds to make this crazy world turn. More, Borut, more!

    Anonymous

    21 November, 2013 at 04:52

  2. On-the-edge-of-my-seat! Better than Gravity! If you’re only going to see a movie about printing this year, make it this one! Borut is engaging, thoughtful and inspiring! The best the internet has to offer!

    jc

    21 November, 2013 at 14:25

  3. ha ha… JC! Thank you for the kind words and welcome back!

    Borut Peterlin

    21 November, 2013 at 15:31

  4. The waxing process was interesting, I have a project planned using digital negatives so I shall give it a try :)

  5. hi there Borut! i just stumbled upon your blog, after watching your youtube videos. i admire the spirit you show in handling and exploring the timeless techniques of the silver dark magik :) i sincerely think there is no need to justify any kind of pricing method when it comes to art. just do what you feel is right. every piece of art meets its price eventually.
    keep up the brilliant work!
    Tal.

    Tal Bedrack

    4 February, 2014 at 23:01

  6. […] By the way, that’s already second print from the project. You can see the post about the first salt print that was sold to China for something more than US $300 (with shipping). Carbon print from wet plate […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,917 other followers

