TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

A photography project on fears and delights being a parent

with 8 comments


.
Dear topshit readers,
I’m awfully proud on the following book I’ve made. I’ve joined an excellent workshop with Klavdij Sluban. Klavdij Sluban is an extraordinary photographer and won so many prestigious photography awards. One of the most important award was certainly European Publishers Award 2009 and this year he was one of the juror for Leica Award 2013. It’s fortunate for us that his parents were Slovenians and although he was born in Paris, he spend his childhood in Slovenia, so he speaks fluently Slovenian (among other half a dozen languages). He made a generous offer to make a whole year lasting workshop and we would meet six weekends across the whole year. His only condition was not to advertise the workshop internationally, but invite only Slovenian photographers. Last week we had an opening of exhibition as the final stage of our workshop.

The presentation of my art zine and a single photograph at Gallery Simulaker, Novo mesto, Slovenia

The presentation of my art zine and a single photograph at Gallery Simulaker, Novo mesto, Slovenia

The book I’m presenting is a fruit of collaboration at the workshop. I’ve learned hugely by just watching Klavdij going through images, picking one, the other, changing the order, putting it back on the pile and so on. We called it Sluban’s magic, because although sometimes images that were on the table were not impressive at all, but his selection of just say 8 images and juxtapositioning them in certain order, did made a huge difference. You can not understand if you don’t witness it. I’ve been at workshops with many many famous photographers, from Martin Parr, Duane Michals, Joel Peter Witkin and many others, but I haven’t seen anything like it. I knew from our first meeting that all I need to learn at the workshop is to tap on his frequency of thinking and the result is evident here in this book. Mark Osterman gave me a great comment. He loved that I used different camera formats (6×6, 4×5″, 8×10″) and also different processes (b&w film, wet plate collodion – ambrotype and wet plate negative) and I blended them all together in a book almost seamlessly. That’s Sluban’s magic, I tell you!

As I’m describing in the video I was aware that the story about the most beautiful children in the world is not enough. I shaped my concept around my fears and delights of being a parent. When I was a child, ten years old, I burned myself with a gasoline and almost died. When I became a parent I experienced fears for my children and one day I was strucked by a thought, what my parents had to go through at the time of my accident!

The book is on ebay (LINK) if you want a copy. If you want a print as well, I’ve just put two prints on ebay and link is listed below.

A link to the gallery of images on my website.

The book on ebay.

The print no.1 listed on ebay.

Print no.6 listed on ebay.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Borut, I’d have liked to buy a print but times are difficult, so I’ve bought a book. I don’t know if it’s possible, but it could be nice if you sign the book to my name. I wish you all the best, Ana

    Ana Tornel

    11 December, 2013 at 21:09

  2. Thank you Ana! Thank you very much! I’ve sent it today signed and numbered with a small inkjet print ;-)

    Borut Peterlin

    15 December, 2013 at 00:41

  3. I’ve just received my copy of ‘Family Album’ and it’s even more wonderful than I anticipated. The images, the paper and the concept are all fabulous and you also have a beautiful family….but you already knew that. Keep up the good work Borut and I wish you and your family all the best for the future.

    Kind regards

    Andy

    ps Merry Christmas :)

    voodoopiles

    23 December, 2013 at 13:00

  4. Oh, thank you Andy! It’s so good to hear that it arrived safely and it’s appreciated. It’s simple, no prestigious materials, no extravaganza, just images and feelings. Thank you again for the support!

    Borut Peterlin

    26 December, 2013 at 01:47

  5. Beautiful = just beautiful

    idiotwriter

    30 December, 2013 at 02:13

  6. Reblogged this on Artwallzine and commented:
    Amazing Photography project

    Artwallzine

    11 January, 2014 at 23:13

  7. While you were toning under a selenium moon I was fondling the pages of your Family Album. It is exquisite. The pages feel silky under my fingers. The images are inspiring; the story they tell is moving. Thank you so much for sending my copy so quickly. I feel honoured to be one of the lucky 199! With gratitude, Elizabeth

  8. […] and it will be open for a month time. On the show I’m exhibiting 39 pieces of my series Family Album. With resources that I had, I was using different kinds of frames, so I conceived the show in a […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,917 other followers

