TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Vintage studio backgrounds of Josip Pelikan, dated about 1930’s

with 3 comments

Vintage background from skylight studio Josip Pelikan, MNZC museum, Celje, Slovenia.

Vintage background from skylight studio Josip Pelikan, MNZC museum, Celje, Slovenia.

Vintage background from skylight studio Josip Pelikan, MNZC museum, Celje, Slovenia.

Vintage background from skylight studio Josip Pelikan, MNZC museum, Celje, Slovenia.

Astrid asked me if I could take a picture of fantastic vintage studio backgrounds that were using Josip Pelikan, so after I got a permission from the museum I’m publishing them on my blog. On Flickr you can download a hires file of the image, just click all sizes. Vintage backgrounds are dated about 1930’s. The skylight studio was built in 1898 and bought by Josip Pelikan in 1922. Nowadays Josip Pelikan Photographic Studio is a branch of the Celje Museum of Recent History. If you going to use the files to make your own vintage look studio background, just leave a note in the back that it was done on the basis of backgrounds from Josip Pelikan Studio, Celje, Slovenia, EU. A lot of people from MNZC museum worked hard to renovate the skylight studio and we owe them at least a credit. THX.

I’ve been thinking. My friend ordered a painted movie poster from India and if you know a painter’s service like that, share the info and good luck! Perhaps we can make a group order and get a discount. Just a thought…

Yesterday I was portraying in the studio and I’ve made this plate. Also a colleague photojournalist Andraž Purg came by and made a portrait of me.

Portrait by Borut Peterlin in wet plate collodion technique in skylight Studio Pelikan, Celje, Slovenia, EU.Borut Peterlin in Josip Pelikan Studio

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really cool stuff.
    You are a lucky guy to be able to work in such a wonderful and historic place.
    Very inspiring to say the least. Hard work pays off.

    John Fink Jr.

    9 December, 2013 at 01:13

  2. Thank you John. I wanted to continue the post with the fact that the project of reviving the studio is financed from our family budget. I charge minimum, that’s 50 EUR for a portrait on 5×7″ plate and I still can not get four clients a day! It’s really ridiculous that I need to pay about US $100 + whole day of working, so the reviving project of this beautiful studio lives on. But I accepted that nowadays unemployment in Slovenia is higher than 20 years ago when we and our neighboring republics had war and all I can do is to keep my head down and paddle on. I have an alternative in mind. Several alternatives. The last one is to move out of this country :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    9 December, 2013 at 09:48

  3. […] See on borutpeterlin.wordpress.com […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,980 other followers

