TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Sunday is a good and dry collodion day

with 4 comments

A scan of a dry collodion negative. Exposure 25 minutes at f/5.6.  (I could make it faster by 1.5 f stop)

A scan of a dry collodion negative. Exposure 25 minutes at f/5.6.
(I could make it faster by 1.5 f stop)

Today it was Sunday. It still is, but concerning the the speed of my writing it will take me two hours and it will be past midnight. Again… So where to start. Basically I’m using this free time that I have during holidays for researching processes, equipment and aesthetic. Very soon I’m planning to go to Bosnia for a test shoot on a new project I’m preparing. In 2015 there will be 20th anniversary of the end of the war in Bosnia and I want to prepare an exhibition on the topic.

OK, let’s start with the new member of my family. Please read captions of my images, this post will be more in telegraphic style.

Charconnet Petzval:
I bought a petzval lens! Gasc & Charconnet Paris Vintage lens is less known and less expensive than Dallmeyer or Hermagis but it’s in the same quality range. Made in years around 1860’s. So now I’m playing around, see what the baby have to offer. Please read the captions and you’ll see what images are done with the lens. Most of them.

Carbon Printing
I’m so much in love with carbon prints! it’s amazing! I love it.

Dry Preserved Collodion Negatives
As much as I love the idea of not carrying all the chemistry and a darkroom around, the dry collodion is not a shortcut. You spend ten times as much time to process one plate. Just developing of a single plate that I’ve shot today it took me literally an hour! That being said, it’s very useful tool to have in my assortiment of expression.

PS: That chopped down tree was cut by a beaver. It’s amazing, that this animals that are almost extinct are living literally in downtown of Dolenjske Toplice! Look carefully the last image, you’ll see that the beaver chewed whole trunk! So cool!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice idea for the new project. I’m sure there will be a lot of scars everywhere to document.
    Looks like a very nice new/old lens. R & R Baby.

    John Fink Jr.

    30 December, 2013 at 02:22

  2. Thank you John,
    I have very exact idea what will I do in Bosnia, but I need to find perfect visual formula for conveying the message. I have high hopes for! Thank you for the comment!

    Oh, by the way, the chewed tree on the last picture is chewed by a beaver! It’s amazing that an animal that is almost extinct lives in downtown of Dolenjske Toplice! I guess I can not photograph it with collodion :-)

    Borut Peterlin

    31 December, 2013 at 12:31

  3. Yes photographing an almost extinct beaver may piss off the animal extinction police :-) Its amazing to me how humans can act (especially in the past where they hunt something down until it’s no more without thinking about it. I guess you’ll have to wait until the beaver shows to photograph him. That could get cold and long. Then you have to have him put his head in the head rest :-) Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
    Happy New Year my friend, you’ll get there before me………………………..tic tock tic tock.

    John Fink Jr.

    31 December, 2013 at 16:58

  4. Wonderful images Borut!!
    I wish you a Happy New 2014! May creativity flow!

    Marie

    2 January, 2014 at 14:38


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,995 other followers

