TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Printing at midnight and toning under selenium moon

with 3 comments


.
Today I wanted to go early to bed. I had exhausting two weeks behind me, so I took my ipad and on youtube I searched for Paul Strand. I am a fan of his work, who isn’t, but I was not familiar with his life story. I was deeply moved with the part when he was almost blind and was asking his wife to focus enlarger and describe him what is she seeing. I remembered that when I was in secondary school I was dreaming that once I will have a darkroom and I will not have to negotiate with my mother when can I occupy our bathroom, I will get up and make a print for the fun of it! I remember the feeling how cool will that be!
It was 10pm and I did just that! I went to make a print. Here it is. It’s for my next exhibition of Family Album in Pula, Croatia, on 13th of February. I read somewhere that Ansel Adams was fixing his prints with plain hypo (sodium thiosulfate) fixer, because this plain fix is not hardening emulsion and also it does not contain acids on the contrary to rapid fixers. Selenium toner needs alcaic solution to work best.
I’m really pleased with the tone and the effect of selenium toner. It gives more cooler tone and intensify blacks. The contrast on the reference test print is 0.5 grade, but for the final print I’ve increased it to 1.0 grade. I was using Ilford multigrade paper.

Written by Borut Peterlin

26 January, 2014 at 02:32

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Always nice when dreams come true (with hard work of course). Nice work Borut.

    John Fink Jr.

    26 January, 2014 at 04:05

  2. Vozzdrav Borut,

    Pravkar videl posentek iz TEDx – prijeten hiperaktiven nastop!:)

    ChestitkE za najdeno iskanega oz., kot je predhodnik napisal, vedno lepo slisat zgodbe, kjer se trud poplaca z uspehom…

    Vseuspesno dalje & Vozzdrav do kaksnega narocila:)

    -G-

    4 February, 2014 at 23:46

  3. I think many who have studied photography have had to negotiate the use of the bathroom as photo lab! … What a pleasure to use the laboratory without time limit … I still use the lab… Congratulations for your work :)

    Greta Estévez

    9 February, 2014 at 02:18


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,957 other followers

