TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Documentary project Great Depression

with 3 comments

.
Two years ago, at the start of my wet plate collodion path, I set myself a project to document state of bankrupt companies. Imagine the moment when the last worker at the last shift, turned the lights out. The moment when it became dead silent.

Now when I’m looking back at my videos (LINK) even blind would see the progress I’ve made. Nevertheless I love imperfection on my plates, so my plates don’t compete with flawlessness of film. This plate that is published under is about as perfect as I want it to be.

Last Thursday I went back to photograph Novoles company and Marcos Núñez Cid was recording a video about my project. He made a true masterpiece. I’m sure you will enjoy it.

Let me highlight that this project is getting quite some attention. First I had a beautiful exhibition in Gallery Photon, Ljubljana, Slovenia, then it was published in DOC! Photomagazine, issue #21, from pages 140-169 and in May, it will be featured in one of the UK’s leading photography magazines. The project was chosen to be presented on a group touring show under organization of European Month of Photography, so if I understood it correctly it will travel across Europe. Last but not least, I also sended this images to Slovenian Photography of the Year competition and the project did not pass even the first round of selection of 30 artists! If that’s not an achievement, then I don’t know what is!

20140410-wpc-novoles-low

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was driving through Slovenia yesterday and my wife and were commenting how Slovenia is beautiful country (and it is indeed) and how everything is neat and clean and well organized. But while watching a series of post on Great Depression it seems to be that Slovenia is in deep shit as well as countries in region. Devastated industry, unemployment… But, nothing is visible from the highway. Great marketing I must admit. Good story Borut!!! Stay well my friend!

    Igor Motl

    14 April, 2014 at 19:12

  2. Igor, you’ve been to Slovenia and didn’t pass by or at least drop me a note? I can’t believe it…
    Slovenia is having a catarsis. Money run out for police and prosecutors and now they finally started to work. Or perhaps that’s what we should believe in…

    Borut Peterlin

    19 April, 2014 at 16:56

  3. Yes… I knew you would be angry… I was traveling to Italy by bus, so there was no way to stop by. We just made one pause somewhere near Postojna Cave on a highway.

    Igor Motl

    20 April, 2014 at 22:23


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,997 other followers

