TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

Hey World,… I don’t suck!

with 3 comments

BW MAG

Tonight I wasn’t sleeping very calmly. Yesterday I started to plan my trip to Rochester for a workshop of dry gelatin plates, but I realized that a plane ticket in August is about 50% more expensive than in November and that whole expenses would be about US $3000. If I would get a loan and sacrifice family holidays (I am ashamed to admit, but it’s true I was thinking that) I could take the workshop. Then I saw on my bookshelf a book Tell the World You Don’t Suck by Leslie Burns-Dell’Acqua. The frustration of canceling plans steared in a new direction.

I opened my calendar with dates of festivals around the world and I’ve checked if I missed portfolio review in Arles, arguably the most important Fine Art Photography festival in the world. I did miss the first wave of registration, but still there are many, many great reviewers. I will book maximum, 20 sessions and that will cost me 540 EUR. Too much I know, but I never ever left empty handed from portfolio reviews like these. And beside that it’s a perfect opportunity to meet with my friends and colleagues from all over the world. I decided that even if we will miss family holidays I will go to Arles. Luckily my wife never reads my blog, so I can write whatever I want, if you will keep quiet, she will never know!

And later the day I’ve received an email from Mike Crawford with this reproduction of a print Black & White Photography! So super proud, I can not describe. You know the feeling when door get’s shut in front of you and you look around and you see many many doors you can take. You know the feeling that life is good that is OK even if it doesn’t flow like you’ve imagined?

PS: Here is a link of my blog post from Arles Photo Folio 2009.
HERE is a link from Vienna’s Portfolio Review 2010.
HERE is a link from Arles and Perpignan festivals 2011.

Written by Borut Peterlin

17 May, 2014 at 17:33

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good for you Borut! Deserved recognition.

    realitysosubtle

    17 May, 2014 at 18:35

  2. About time you were featured in B+W ! I will look forward to next months issue :-)

    Lesley

    18 May, 2014 at 09:09

  3. Thank you guys! Much appreciated support!

    Borut Peterlin

    19 May, 2014 at 09:41


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,960 other followers

