TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

borut peterlin, slovenia, ambrotype, Portrait photography, Wet Plate Collodion, Analog Film photography

The Mask, global wet plate project

with 3 comments

20140518_002

.
Shane Balkowitsch bought dozen gas masks and shipped them to artists around the world with only one task, to make a wet plate collodion image with the mask. In a year or so the masks circled the globe and few weeks ago came knocking at my door. Yesterday I’ve made the image I wanted. It’s inspired by Röyksopp’s video spot What Else Is There. I wanted to get a haunted kind of dreamy creature. I ask my daughters to dress as princesses and consequently they used all mother’s make up. I explained them that no make up is needed because of the mask, but that didn’t stop them :-)

On the video you can see Lučka is jumping. I wanted unnatural body posture and the best way I could think of is while being suspended in the air. I thought I will see that she’s flying, just as Marianne Schröder is flying in Royksopp’s video, but now I prefer it like it is. It does look very unearthly, which is what I wanted in the first place!

The collection of wet plates of the mask is ON THIS LINK.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice addition to the project. Love it.

    John Fink Jr.

    19 May, 2014 at 16:52

  2. […] From Boruts excellent blog…. […]

  3. Reblogged this on TiTANiUM MiKE.

    titaniummike

    5 June, 2014 at 16:04


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,003 other followers

