TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Matej and Erik went off to Iraq

with 2 comments

leskovšekOur collegues Matej Leskovšek and Erik Valenčič are going to Iraq tomorrow. I catched Matej when he was leaving the office. Fortunatly they are going only to Kurdistan, north of Iraq.

jla_borut_peterlin.jpgI remmember when I was 16 in year 1991, when war was just finished in Slovenia and I bought my first functional camera Practica with 200mm lens. War was already over, but army was moving their weapons out of Slovenia and still a lot of armed soldiers were arround railway. Since it was not even a kilometer from my home I went to take pictures of them. It was easy. I knew every bush and I could come on about 50 m to photograph guards. Of course I was doing it just for … adrenaline I guess. In the beginning I was really carefull and nobody noticed me, but later I became arrogant. I was cycling on the street and just to show off to my friend I took a stupid picture of an ordinary army truck. Guard noticed me and start to run after me, but he couldn’t catch me. But then suddenly another guard jumped out from nowhere and he unblock his gun point at me and demand to stop. I clutched my head down and cycled as fast as I could. He didn’t shoot (obviously) and I guess he was just as affraid as I was because he could knocked me out easily when I was passing beside him. Since that was not stupid enough I went next day to novo mesto to photograph tanks on the railway station. Again in the beginning I was hiding and nobody noticed me, but then I started to photograph on the sidewalk and then soldiers started to chase me and they caught me. Really horrible scene followed when civilian people who were passing by tried to protect me and soldier came with their guns. Then police came with their guns and I thought that people will die because of my stupid games. On the end everything was OK and police took me away. I was crying like a baby and I guess it was way obvious I’m not a spy or a terrorist.

Anyhow this issue of Mladina will again rock! Although coverpage is already printed I will not publish it yet on my blog. We’re writting about new financial scandal and since you could guess what is the scandal and the information can be used before Sathurday, I’ll publish it tomorrow evening. But when I was shooting visual elements for the coverpage I noticed that this pictures are really funny if you don’t know why have I shot them. So here you have a hint 🙂

_mg_7763_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_7772_borut_peterlin.jpg Graphic designer Ivian Mujezinović – in color!

Written by Borut Peterlin

15 December, 2006 at 00:31

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hjam, I hope Matej didnt take his bike in Iraq! Coz crying there wont help that much… 🙂

    Anonymous

    15 December, 2006 at 10:30

  2. Ni panike… midva se vozima okoli z avtom:).

    VW, vojaki so pa cisto kul fantje….

    lepo se imejte…. pozdrav iz Iraka!!

    Matej Leskovsek

    19 December, 2006 at 13:00


Leave a Reply

