TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait

with 4 comments

_mg_8417_borut_peterlin.jpgStriptiz is a rubric in Mladina weekly where I make “creative” portraits. For this issue I was briefed to do a portrait of Viljenka Jakac Bizjak, a director of Library of Oton Župančič. As it happen so many times before I was shocked. How can I do inovative portrait of an established person whom I do not know and opportunity for the picture would be opening of new librarys spaces.

But patience is certainly my virtue and I also learned that I do best pictures in the most impossible positions, so I said I’ll wait for a day before I’ll go completly berserk because people don’t understand what am I trying to do here. (Neither do I, but it’s going to be good)

Great news is that LokalPatrot with coproducers Mladina and Host gallery are organizing my exhibition in Host gallery / London of Striptiz pictures. I thought it’s good to have very various portraits on the show, so why not use this berserk side of me and make a good Striptiz portrait.

OK. keywording…. library, books, expansion, new place, new buliding, constructing, established lady, manager, director,… and came up with this idea. She would stand between bookshelfs with heelbarrow (samokolnica) full of books and a shovel full of books. She didn’t like it at all….

Berserker… I start to think more. keywording…. Books… what is opposite to books? Television! How can I include television in the library?

_mg_8393_borut_peterlin.jpg _mg_8387_borut_peterlin.jpg

In this situation I really didn’t like the position of the person, because the picture is all about the television and I do want to make a portrait first of all! And I really don’t like flat pictures. I like open space, depth, perspective,..

_mg_8400_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_8399_borut_peterlin.jpgHere are some background pictures, since a lot of photographers like to see technical side of the picture. Picture on the telly was shot with my D20 and then I used the telly for a preview of the image.

Written by Borut Peterlin

19 December, 2006 at 23:15

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good site! I found in google.com +

    Tony

    14 March, 2007 at 11:33

  2. ERR A

    Paloma

    30 March, 2007 at 15:48

  3. ERR A

    Grace

    30 March, 2007 at 23:27

  4. ERR

    Beryl

    2 April, 2007 at 12:03


Leave a Reply

