TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Matjaž Berger’s portrait for Mladina / Striptiz

with 3 comments

_mg_9960_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9954_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9966_borut_peterlin.jpg

Matjaž Beger is famous Slovenian theater director and head of newly established theater Anton Podbevšek Teater. Picture is not photomontage. Nobody got hurt at the shooting. Fish that we used is real and it died at the fish farm from natural cause and was planned for dog food. Well it will still be, but I photographed it before. As vegetarian I couldn’t kill a living fish for the shoot, especially because this size of the fish is about three years old, which is the same age as my daughter.

Boštjan Pucelj helped me at the shoot. I’ll finish the post tomorrow.

Well a lot of people asked me today how did I get the fish like that and how did it truly die. Well We’ve been throwing the fish 25 times and on few frames it was perfect. Fish died from old age as women at the fish farm Črmošnjice told me. She took it out from the fridge. She said that old trout’s meat is stiff and no good for eating, but every weekend she sells few big old trouts to fisherman that don’t catch any fishes and then they come to fish farm and buy the biggest fish. I thought she’s joking, but she was serious.

Maybe you wonder why fish? Well why not? I remember seeing a performance directed by Berger when I was in secondary school and it was happening under this bridges. In the performance they used fish, so I told him that I want to photograph him with fish and he said that also in this coming show there are also fishes in the show, so I guess it makes sense, although this is not a criteria I would pledge to.

Written by Borut Peterlin

8 January, 2007 at 00:29

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cool fotka!

    Big Brother

    9 January, 2007 at 14:32

  2. good photo. but id like to see all 25 throw-ones 🙂

    mArkedzani

    13 January, 2007 at 19:07

  3. […] Yesterday I took my daughter to a theater show at Anton Podbevšek Teater. They had a premiere of a fairy tale Peter and the Wolf by Sergej Prokofijev, directed by Nana Milčinski and Matjaž Berger who is also headmaster of the theater. I’ve portraited him recently. Show was fantastic and I strongly recommend to see it in one of the next shows. […]


Leave a Reply

