TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Enjoying dull political events

with 2 comments

d199_5094_borut_peterlin.jpgYesterday it was a congress of LDS, second strongest party in Slovenia. Very important event for journalist, but on first glance very dull event for photographers. People talking, people listening, people applauding, etc… I decided at the beginning I’ll create few images that will make double page in Mladina and few images that will get on the exhibition Flower – Power. I’ll made few quite good portraits and other very useful images for Mladina. d200_5190_borut_peterlin.jpgI’m really happy with this image. Not only because it vizualises the chaos that governs LDS party, but also because how it was made. You know those moments when nothing is going on and you feel that boredom is starting to seize you like a flue? Well this time I decided I’ll not get bored, but instead I’ll make fabulous pictures. I started to observe the world with eyes of a beginner and everything that my eye saw was incredibly interesting and world was sharp and vivid. So I saw this banner of LDS standing in the lobby, but it was in front of white wall and I couldn’t do any interesting picture. I turned around watching carefully every detail feeling comfortable going with the flow. I noticed a guy approaching and then he took the poster away. At the beginning I thought that it’s too bad because something might have happen in front of that poster and the poster as a background would make a good picture. Hm.. I thought I’ll follow the guy to see where is taking my poster. On the end of the day everything is better then this white wall. d199_5146_borut_peterlin.jpgd199_5149_borut_peterlin.jpgHe took it to the other side of the lobby and when he was setting it up I recognized that this is the situation I was waiting to happen. Colors of poster were almost the same as colors of the painting so I started to photograph intensively. I caught the attention of my colleague Gregor and he approached me and asked me what am I doing. Well,… I’m taking pictures. I see that, but for what will you use this pictures? he asked me. I don’t know but if it will turn out as fabulous as it is, I’ll use it on an exhibition. He surely thought I was making bad joke. The biggest misunderstanding of Life among mojority of people is that we’re just observers in this world, but as quantum mechanics teach us we are creating the world. Mater is made of 99,99999% of vacuum and thoughts are steering the quantum’s of energy. Thought springs on intimate level flows down to collective level and from there down the rabbit hole! It can’t be more simple!
d200_5315_borut_peterlin.jpgd200_5292_borut_peterlin.jpgd199_5158_borut_peterlin.jpgd199_4200_borut_peterlin.jpg

Here are few pictures made for Flower – Power series, but I’ll use only the first image. Unfortunately I haven’t collect all pictures together so you could see the series, but the concept is that I photograph flower bouquets on politic events, depriving stars of the event on the level of unimportant statisticians. It’s a sort of mutiny against PR personnel who are keeping us photojournalists on a short leash.

Last but not least, my daughter will soon have three years and we spend a really beautiful day today together! _mg_5503_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_5523_borut_peterlin.jpg p1010027_borut_peterlin.jpg


Last_picture_done by Alenka Peterlin.

Written by Borut Peterlin

28 January, 2007 at 23:49

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. poglej tale pejđ… na las je enmu podoben pa se ne morem spomnit katermu:)

    http://www.sports-med.eu/

    ML

    Matej L.

    29 January, 2007 at 13:17

  2. Kaj čem rečt. Možakar ima dober okus.
    B5

    borut.peterlin

    29 January, 2007 at 22:12


Leave a Reply

