TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Portraiting president of Slovenia Janez Drnovšek

leave a comment »

Yesterday I uploaded at 1am (today) some images from the interview with the president. Considering the circumstances I’m quite pleased with the result, but nevertheless it could be better. By circumstance I mean photographing while the interview is in progress. Some photographers enjoy that they just observe and catching hand and facial gestures, but that’s not my favorite way. I prefer if I have 10 minutes and then I make the portrait as I think it would be appropriate. I’m aware that when interview is in progress photographer can be very annoying for a journalist and for a person being interviewed. But let’s go back to this interview.

_mg_7441_borut_peterlin.jpgI have set up two flashes. One was to be main light (with softbox) and second flash was pointed toward the ceiling, which will serve as an “ambient” light. Basically first one was to lit the president and second was to lit the room. _mg_7329_borut_peterlin.jpg This was first image that I’ve took and it was horrible, light was “cloudy” boring. The problem was that relation between main light (softbox) and second flash was not enough distinguished. If main light makes shadows, second flash takes shadows away, so since there were not enough shadows, I turn down second flash to minimum. I would turn it off completely, but for printing in the magazine it’s better that there is not such a contrast. Secondly I found it that depth of field is taking away attention from the face so I turn down main light for a 60%. Here_is_before_and after effect.

_mg_7344_borut_peterlin.jpgISO Speed: 320
Date: 2007:02:15 10:48:59 Aperture: 14.0
Focal lenght: 79 mm
Exposure prgm: Manual
Exposure: 1/100 Sec

_mg_7384_borut_peterlin.jpg ISO Speed: 100
Aperture: 5.6
Focal lenght: 50 mm
Exposure prgm: Manual
Exposure: 1/80 Sec

Same_situation_in_next three images, just that in the third one I also changed the viewpoint, so I had a dark background, which is emphasizing shadows and face lines.

_mg_7331_borut_peterlin.jpgISO Speed: 320
Aperture: 14.0
Focal lenght: 159 mm
Exposure prgm: Manual
Exposure: 1/100 Sec

_mg_7374_borut_peterlin.jpg ISO Speed: 100
Aperture: 5.6
Focal lenght: 159 mm

Exposure prgm: Manual
Exposure: 1/100 Sec

_mg_7411_borut_peterlin.jpgISO Speed: 100
Aperture: 6.3
Focal lenght: 135 mm

Exposure prgm: Manual
Exposure: 1/80 Sec

_mg_7434_borut_peterlin.jpgFor leading picture in the interview I’ve chosen this picture, but now I think I’ve made a mistake and that last picture is better. Oh well, that’s the toll of being photographer, editor, babysitter and much, much more in one person in tight time schedule.
_mg_7425_borut_peterlin.jpg ISO Speed: 100
Aperture: 5.6
Focal lenght: 28 mm
Exposure prgm: Manual
Exposure: 1/80 Sec

On the end I’m publishing few old images that I’ve done for Institutional Investor and Panos agency. Photographers of Institutional Investor are producing really superb images, highly innovative and exciting, especially because I know under what kind of conditions this guys are doing. I’m still a rooky in this business, but learning fastttt!

Pictures were shot on Mamiya RB67 in year 2003 and on the pictures are Anton Rop (Prime Minister at the time), Dušan Mramor (Finance Minister at the time) and Andrej Rant, Vice Governor of Bank of Slovenia.

11_borut_peterlin.jpg05_borut_peterlin.jpg16_borut_peterlin.jpg23_borut_peterlin.jpg20_borut_peterlin.jpg andrej-rant-02_borut_peterlin_borut_peterlin.jpgandrej-rant-01_borut_peterlin_borut_peterlin.jpg

Written by Borut Peterlin

16 February, 2007 at 23:34

Leave a Reply

