TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Photo of the week

with 4 comments

This week it was super busy. As photo-editor of Mladina I had problems with our staff photographers and I had to do a lot of pictures by myself. The good side of the situation was that I had to do a lot of pictures by myself 🙂 I covered a lot of trivial events but I told myself that since I’m already here I’ll better make the best possible picture. On Monday I photographed a lecture of Minister Zupan and Minister Cotman. Can you imagine how visually uninteresting event that was. Nonetheless I was looking hard to find something that will make a picture from sign boards, gestures, auditory, etc. I didn’t found anything and I felt I wasted an hour. On the very end I noticed the sign Euroleague written on the floor. That was perfect. Minister for education was giving a lecture on European educational system and him on top of the sign would make a “picture of the week”. Unfortunately I noticed it at the end of the lecture when Minister Zupan already finished the lecture. I left with mixed feelings. On one side I was angry that I missed a good picture, but on other side I received a confirmation that even from the most boring event, you can make the best picture possible. _mg_6878_borut_peterlin.jpgWell that’s the best picture I’ve made that day and although it is useful for press, it would be so much better if the whole inscription Euroleague would be seen.

Yesterday I photographed an opening of an exhibition Prikrito in očem zakrito in Dolenjski muzej gallery. The exhibition is about out of trial massive murders of collaborators during the Second World War. In museum Dolenjski muzej is also a memorial to victims of fascism and it’s collaborators, so in the spirit of “balanced reporting” I tried to take a picture where names of victims of fascism would visually interacting with some renown figure of right wing politician. _mg_7816_borut_peterlin.jpgI even prepared the frame and observed it for more then an hour if somebody will pass the memorial, but unfortunately did not.

Nonetheless beside useful portraits I took this picture that I’m really pleased with it and again got a prof that there are great pictures everywhere, just photographer must work his ass off to make it.

_mg_7859_borut_peterlin.jpg

Written by Borut Peterlin

17 February, 2007 at 22:05

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The last one is really great!

    Christian

    17 February, 2007 at 23:16

  2. I agree with Christian, last one is perfect!!!

    majah

    19 February, 2007 at 07:03

  3. Yes last picture is really rewarding. My post is about my plan how to make a good picture, but on the end all plans failed but even better picture emerged. The point is to observe, to focus your mind, your body your attention and everything you got into a purpose of good picture and then something emerges from nothing. I know it sounds like magic and you’ve might not believe me, but it’s is in fact magic!

    B5

    borut.peterlin

    19 February, 2007 at 11:11

  4. Can you imagine how visually uninteresting event that was.

    b5, your words 2 me: “just look ’round!” 😉

    mArkedzani

    23 February, 2007 at 10:24


Leave a Reply

