TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Striptiz portrait of Primož Nemec – curator

with 3 comments

_mg_8348_borut_peterlin.jpg

_mg_8419a_borut_peterlin.jpg

Which one do you prefer? First one or second one? Cheers, B5.

Today I’ve done a fresh Striptiz portrait of Primož Nemec curator of new gallery Ganes Pratt, which is orientating into a contemporary art and young artist. OK, my original idea was to do a remake of fameous Grohar‘s painting of a sower, just that sower would be on the trash dump, sowing trash. We prepared all requisites and get all permissions, but when we arrived on the dump, I saw black ash and I immediately abolished all my earlier plans and decided that this is the element I want to have on my picture. Primož took with him two white canvases ready to be drawn on and it was perfect contrast to black ash. I’m publishing a sequence although I think I’m lingering only between first and second image. Second image is so different, because of the expression that is real. My flash lite was overthrown by wind and it was falling, but Primož luckily caught it. That’s how this picture was made.

Which picture do you prefer? First one or second one?

Here are some other pictures, just to illustrate few scenarios that I’ve tried and although it’s bad, it’s important to do it, because you never know when the coincidence will overthrow your wonderfully complicated idea and show you something you never saw before.

_mg_8361_borut_peterlin.jpg

_mg_8408_borut_peterlin.jpg

_mg_8404_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_8387_borut_peterlin.jpg

PS:_On_the_end we’ve realized this black ash is ash of asbestos. Ups…

Written by Borut Peterlin

23 February, 2007 at 00:02

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. second one. more action in it. 🙂 best m

    majah

    23 February, 2007 at 21:19

  2. I like them both, but i don’t think first one would function in a magazine.

    I’d lose the texture on the second pic’s softbox though, so it becomes unknown black object Primož is applying The Force on… 🙂

    ivan

    25 February, 2007 at 14:08

  3. Second one!!!!

    Senta Frol

    2 June, 2007 at 21:12


Leave a Reply

