TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New photographical project “1km”

with one comment

I’m doing a documentary project dealing with highway construction, but actually is about mankind and it’s power to change their living environment. The title of the project is “1km”. I’ve been visiting this place at Otočec for more then a year, photographing how this place is changing.

_mg_8206_borut_peterlin.jpgWhile I was taking pictures something it just didn’t felt right. At the beginning I was shooting on slides with my Fuji GSW 690 camera, but I wasn’t satisfied with the result. It didn’t had some sort of edge. Basically it was just boring. I comfort myself that when those pictures will be enlarged on 1×1,5 meter it will look really sharp and slick, but instantaneous I recalled a lesson from Oliviero Toscani at Fabrica. He said that if your pictures are boring you can do two things: Either blow it really BIG, or make it unsharp. And then he nailed “Don’t expect that audience will be creative instead of you!” True, true, true…

000008_borut_peterlin.jpg000007_borut_peterlin.jpg000005_borut_peterlin.jpgThis_three_pictures_are_quite_bad_scans_from good 6×9 slides. After an hour of photographing, thinking how should I photograph it, it a solution flashed it. I start using my flash, underexposing ambient light and making pictures really dramatic, bringing focus to details in really interesting kind of way. I decided to shoot the project on my digital camera. Why? Answer in my next post.
_mg_9126_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9121_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9112_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9092_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9086_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9089_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9079_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9057_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9075_borut_peterlin.jpg

Written by Borut Peterlin

27 February, 2007 at 00:02

Posted in Photojournalism

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I’m devoting whole attention to my family, so when they go take an hour for siesta I grab my camera and run to get some pictures of fast developing “1km” project. Today I cycled there and since I arrived when everybody took their lunch brake I was just lying under trees. I admit I have some second thoughts concerning this project, but when worker returned and I took some great images all doubts dispersed. […]


Leave a Reply

