TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

NOORDUNG and myself

with 4 comments

zivadinov_display.jpg

Team that made a memorial room at Vitanje (from left): Dragan Živadinov, mag. Srečko Fijavž, Blaž Šef, Goran Jovič, Miha Turšič and Slavko Vetrih.

Tonight there was a documentary film on RTV SLO on Herman Potočnik NOORDUNG. I loved every bit of it. Especially Dragan Živadinov who is really remarkable person. I met him before opening of Noordung memorial room. I remember the most the passion that lives in this man and how incredibly well articulated thoughts are mesmerizing everybody around. I noticed also that in spite that we were all astonished by his passionate speech he was holding himself back knowing that it we just are unable to consume the scale of person like Herman Potočnik NOORDUNG.

Even yesterday I was talking about my idea of different kinds of (cheap) aerial photography. One of them was also to adjust camera (in a box) on a meteorological balloon, let it fly up to 10.000m altitude and then release it and let it fall down to 1000m where a parachute would open and safely land a camera. Everything would be programmed with GPS system and few hundred pictures would be shot randomly. Of course I would still consider myself as an author of them.

By that it made me think Živadinov’s claim that a lot of artists are very much into science. In a modest way I’m one of them. Hm… Here is one of my more crazy aerial ideas. I would like to make a radio controlled blimp with a camera and a web cam. One of the ideas what to make with it is also to let it fly interactively. Like you would visit a website of the blimp and choose where do you that blimp will fly. Computer would gather all the “wishes” and then calculate the approximation of all wishes and fly to the spot. I mean it would be something like Kasparov vs. the world. Please don’t thrash this daydreaming of mine asking me what good will that do. Basically it’s just a mind exercise on aerial photography.

_mg_9800_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_9801_borut_peterlin.jpgIf_you_want to know what am I doing beside taking care of my family and planning stratospheric aerial photograph… My neighbor closed the road access to my parcel on which I’ll build a house so I’m looking ways to get arround this as smooth as possible.

OH, yes of course…. Today a colleague of mine Ksenija Hahonina / Mladina called me from London and told me to hurry up with organization if we want to catch a rocket launch at Bajkonur, Kazakstan on 4th of April. We’ll (probably) go to Kazakhstan for two weeks. If we’ll go you can expect some serious bloging.

Written by Borut Peterlin

6 March, 2007 at 22:20

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hehe, it is so nice to have nice neighbours! 😉
    And… are there any sits left on the way to Kazakhstan?!

    Matjazz

    7 March, 2007 at 01:43

  2. Of course! That kind of neighboring situation is Slovenian’s national sport and there are no more sits on the rocket! I guess we’ll need to go into the space by foot.

    B5

    borut.peterlin

    7 March, 2007 at 06:28

  3. You can check if road is listed in the books. If it is, then you can use it. Otherwise you will have to request to be listed. Based on how it looks, it seems it was used in the past and seems no reason why they wouldn’t list the road and allow you to use it. You might need to go to court to get it done however.

    Good luck with that.

    Iztok

    8 March, 2007 at 10:22

  4. Thanks for support Iztok, but I feel quite confident in conflicts like that and I figure out a solution without courts. Law rules!

    🙂 B5

    Borut Peterlin

    8 March, 2007 at 15:03


Leave a Reply

