TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Striptiz portrait of Darko Tomić – Comics – holic

with 5 comments

p-striptiz-dare-stripar_0048_b5_borut_peterlin.jpg
Darko Tomić runs an association of Comics collectors Stripoholik and a comics store Striparna. From one side this was really difficult portrait, because I have so much stuff going on, starting with my family (Lučka is a little bit ill), Mladina and today it looks I’ll not go to Kazakhstan. Crazy times. Well back to Striptiz portrait. nick1.jpgWhen I think of a context of comics and photography immediately a picture of Nick Cave by Anton Corbijn springs in my mind. I was in super tight time pressure and I was comforting myself that if I’ll not find any other better solution I’ll copy the idea. That’s one of my tricks how to relax under stressful situation. When I’m under stress and I need to act fast and I convince myself that I already have a solution and all I have to do is photograph it. Basically I’m lying to myself, boosting my ego, demanding impossible from myself, a person being portraited and from the sun to draw exactly the kind of shadows I want.

When I devote my attention completely, small things happen and all I have to do is release the shutter.

Well this portrait was done in 10 minutes, which is my absolute record (usually it takes at least an hour) but nonetheless I’m very happy with the result.

Written by Borut Peterlin

14 March, 2007 at 22:08

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Samo meni je ta fotka skor boljša od Corbijnove oz. njena bolj kompleksna nadgradnja.

    Pa senci bi bilo treba narisat čik! 🙂

    ivan

    15 March, 2007 at 00:57

  2. Se strinjam z ivanom. Res neverjetno dobro za 10 minut. Pa tud v ozadju so linije super postavljene (ne znam razložit, sej veš, kaj mislim). Saj namesto čika so pa očala, če pogledaš vidiš, da gledajo strip. 🙂

    majah

    15 March, 2007 at 06:04

  3. Thanks for the compliments. Yes, it’s true that I was especially careful on the glasses and a dot of light, which looks like an eye.

    I’m also really happy with the upgrade of Corbjin’s idea. The secret is an attitude. When I excepted that under such conditions I can really not make a good picture and I literally accepted the defeat so I opened my eyes and start taking pictures.

    You have to be aware that your thoughts and prejudices are literally a fog in front of your eyes. By accepting a defeat, I reduced my expectations to minimum and only then I started to looked with my eyes and not with my prejudices. And on the same time my assistants is Annie Leibovitz as I described in one of earlier posts.
    https://borutpeterlin.wordpress.com/2006/09/25/good-portrait-good-day/

    I know It’s hard to understand, but only now I understand legends of samurai’s and other Kung Fu masters. They went to the fight as they are dead already without a concept of death in their mind and they fought like … in movies 🙂

    Or another example – ski jumps. http://www.jwsc2006.com/slike/tepes.jpg
    If a ski jumper things he might fall, he will fall, but on the same time he accepted the fact that he might fall and injure seriously.
    I know it doesn’t make sense, but Life does not make sense anyway. It just is!
    B5

    PS: I know exactly what you mean Majah by lines. Later I’ll write a comment on that and I’ll analyze it.

    borut.peterlin

    15 March, 2007 at 07:18

  4. I think is nothing wrong with “copying” or upgrading other images (like this strip one is). Does it ever happen to you that you actually remember others images, and “saw” them during shooting? I mean that you get the picture as you saw before, but you forget it in some way. And then you shoot you see … Its like getting the memory back. is such a great feeling. 🙂

    I like your explanation about upgrading.

    majah

    15 March, 2007 at 12:30

  5. […] blank walls. I thought on a portrait I’ve done long time ago of his colleague Darko Tomić (HERE) and I’ve made a remake of the picture. In 5 minutes this portrait was made and in next five […]


Leave a Reply

