TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Portrait of Aleš Šteger for Mladina / Stripiz rubric

with 5 comments

_mg_0318_borut_peterlin.jpg
Aleš Šteger, writer.

For Striptiz rubric I was photographed Aleš Šteger who recently published a book Berlin. I was impressed by the book and his form of language for treating everyday casual events with an attitude of wonder. So I was looking for a sort of urbanely – abstract bacground to do the portrait. Something like in Melita Zajc portrait. I was very stressed, but as always confident to do the picture properly. In this sort of situation when I don’t know how should I make the picture I’m looking for an element to build a picture around it. We were driving on Ljubljana suburbia, hoping that something will catch my eye. While we were pleasantly chatting I realize that our companies car has an empty tank and we might not get back to Ljubljana. We filled up a tank and all together it passed one hour and I still didn’t found a place to take a picture. I decided I’ll do the picture beside a sound barrier of highway. After I set up my lights a local guy approached us and start explaining everything about this small suburban community. He just didn’t stop. he told us everything about the highway construction his protests to get this sound barrier and so on. Aleš describe him perfectly, but I can not translate it in English. He said: Gospod je užaloščeni tajnik krajevne skupnosti, ki se ukvarja z domoznanstvom. What a perfect use of language!!! Considering the circumstances I decided to include the man on the picture and start my “dancing photography” photographing. When I came home I realize it didn’t work out and I asked Aleš for a second photo session and he said OK. He appreciated that someone is investing so much energy in a picture so he was willing to sit on the main street of Ljubljana for a picture. Matej Leskovšek assisted me.

_mg_0057_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_0063_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_0072_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_0079_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_0110_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_0091_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_0313_borut_peterlin.jpg

Written by Borut Peterlin

26 April, 2007 at 22:39

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Unbelievable! Just last week I was standing at this same zebra crossing, thinking of the EXACTLY same shot, except that I would try to catch speeding cars in the background, instead of people. Great shot, I really love it.

    Klemen

    27 April, 2007 at 03:29

  2. Super fotka! Sam jaz bi raje zablural ljudi v ozadju, da pri pregledovanju fotke od glavnega motiva pogled ne pobegne prehitro na noge mlade gospodične, vrečko starejše gospe, fanta z ruzakom…

    Matjazz

    27 April, 2007 at 11:41

  3. Ni treba blurati, softbox naredi svoje. Itak pa Borut tega ne počne, če kaj vem? 🙂

    Klemen

    27 April, 2007 at 20:44

  4. True. The whole purpose of people in the background is to metaphorically associate the picture with urban metropolis what Berlin is. And that was the big question how can I make a picture in Ljubljana that would visually associate with Berlin.

    I did it with passers by and perspective. All elements from people to the lines are dynamic only Aleš, being portraited is still.

    B5

    B5

    27 April, 2007 at 21:22

  5. Funny shoes…

    borisini

    30 May, 2009 at 09:10


Leave a Reply

