TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Slovenian voodoo politic and a cover for Mladina issue

with 7 comments

voodo-drni_2830-preview-2_mid.jpg

For the cover of tomorrows issue of Mladina I’ve worked my ass off. To all readers who don’t know for Slovenian political games let me sum up that president Drnovšek and Prime Minister Janša are in war. And their retoric battles are having huge collateral damage for Slovenia. President Drnovšek labeled Prime Minister Janša as negative leader and that was the keyword for my idea. Black magic! Voodo. Actually now when I’m having a second thought, Slovenian voodo is really a proper term, since President feels negative energy around Prime Minister, while Prime Minister is bringing up tons of rumors without any proofs about the actions of president.

Let’s get back to earth and talk about the making of this picture. Basically what could go wrong it went wrong. Well the biggest problem was finding a voodo doll and I didn’t find it anywhere and here it comes Mateja Hrastar and put a voodoo doll on my desk. Astonished I asked here did she got it, and she said she had it for years in her office. Apparently she receives it as a gift and it was lying in a box since. hm….

_mg_2598_borut_peterlin.jpgThis week I had so much stuff to do, so I’ve made this shot in a studio on a neutral background. When others saw the cover they protested against the crappy background and after some excuses I knew they are right. I also knew that means a night sift for me. So I bought nails instead of pins and later that day I thought of a circle of fire and a satanistic pentagram. I came back to Novo mesto around 23.30 and when I pour gasoline and light it, this happened! _mg_2816_borut_peterlin_borut_peterlin.jpg

In few seconds my voodoo doll was left without a head. A head that is the most important part of a picture! I was in despair. It was Wednesday, tomorrow a cover needs to go to print and I have a doll without a head. I said to myself OK I’ll spend a night on a computer and see what can I do, so I took few more pictures like that. _mg_2830_borut_peterlin.jpg I know it was pretty useless material, but at 3 am I was quite happy with the picture on top of this post. Robert Botteri creative director and Damjan Ilić graphic designer made another version that was used as the cover, but my picture was used as a spread in the interior of the magazine.

Written by Borut Peterlin

25 May, 2007 at 11:59

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ne bi si mislila, da je tok truda zadaj.
    ne vem zakaj, mi je samo fotka, če bi bila taka objavljena kot naslovnica, malenkost bolj všeč …

    majah

    25 May, 2007 at 21:25

  2. I guess now we know why our president is bald 🙂 Cool report.

    Klemen

    25 May, 2007 at 21:46

  3. Maja, that was my point to achieve it as the picture was taken straight. I also my version of the picture more, but on the same hand I do agree with creative director that the version on the cover is better for the cover. Cover page needs to work straight away, directly, get to the point immediately. It’s amazing how the magazine sale depends on the cover!

    Klemen good point 🙂

    B5

    B5

    25 May, 2007 at 21:55

  4. Hehe, you’re lucky your neighbours didn’t call the police (maniac doing voodoo in his backyard at night press…) 🙂

    ivan

    25 May, 2007 at 23:44

  5. hmmm… yes, you are right. rules with cover are like that. so i take my opinion bck.

    majah

    26 May, 2007 at 18:18

  6. Priznam, da do sedaj nisem veliko krožil po tvojem sajtu pa me je tale ognjena novica kar pritegnila. Res veliko dela za dober učinek. Upam, da nisi zažgal še česa več, kot le lutke 😉

    Frako

    26 May, 2007 at 19:53

  7. Frako,
    I’ve burned myself 22 years ago playing with a gasoline, so believe me I took all precautions. But
    Nietzsche was right what it does not kill you, makes you stronger. I devoted few pictures on that topic:
    http://www.borutpeterlin.com/fine_art/fire/pages/fire_0.htm
    B5

    borut.peterlin

    26 May, 2007 at 21:37


Leave a Reply

