TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait of painter Igor Ribič

with 4 comments

portrait of painter Igor Ribič

portrait of painter Igor Ribič
Here is a portrait of a painter Igor Ribič for a Striptiz rubric for Mladina weekly. For this portrait I wanted to photograph Igor on the construction yard of Opera. But I would need to get so much permmisions, I decided to simplify my ideas. I had in mind something organic, sort of the feeling as it is on his pictures. I especially liked the picture of vine with grapes and eyes of a hunter. Here are two versions of the shoot. Which one do you prefer? I prefer first one, because it’s simple, very simple and not so descriptive. Some people prefer second one. What do you think?

Written by Borut Peterlin

28 May, 2007 at 22:33

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Actually Klemen, now (in the morning) I realize that on all portraits there is an element of surprise, something that’s unpredictable, but on the first picture this “something” it’s missing.
    I’m not totally happy with second one either. It’s too descriptive.
    B5

    B5

    29 May, 2007 at 07:27

  2. He’s a painter, body paint him 🙂
    I know I’d try something with brushes at least, but you would probably place a water can somewhere, hehehe.

    Klemen

    29 May, 2007 at 08:39

  3. uou, this is hard one. i would say second one. it is more striptiz style. but i also like the simplicity in the first one.
    but what i like in second is that we see exactly the same “amount” of head as guy (looks like him, probably is) in the picture that he holds. and another interesting part is that guy in the picture wears head, but instead of that Igor has tree that looks like “venček” (i dont know in english :)). well i am complicating, but at least second one make me think.

    majah

    29 May, 2007 at 17:04

  4. Maja and Klemen, thanks! I decided for the second one!
    B5

    B5

    30 May, 2007 at 08:53


Leave a Reply

