TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait of Mirsad Begić

with 7 comments

Mirsad Begić sculptore maker, photographed by Borut Peterlin / MLADINASculptor maker Mirsad Begić is really renown artist in his mature years and I had quite some concerns how am I going to photograph him. I visited his exhibition in gallery Glesia, and I loved his exhibition very much! I had some plans how to photograph him, but when I entered his studio that is a size of a cloakroom all my previous planning was ruined. Second plan was to make a remake of a Duane Michals famous portrait of Andy Warhol, but it didn’t work it out. The room was too small to set the lights on a proper spot and I couldn’t asking Mr. Begić to turn his head for more then few times. Hm.. I now I changed white balance, sharpened and tickled it a little more and I quite like the result! Which one do you prefer? First one or a second one?

Mirsad Begić sculptore maker, photographed by Borut Peterlin / MLADINA

Written by Borut Peterlin

7 June, 2007 at 00:30

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d go with the first one. Why? Well, the man still is the most important part of the photo, so maybe the background could be a little blurred (like with the panning, or just bokeh), and not the other way around. Surely the second one is interesting, too, maybe just too blurry. Maybe next time lower light, and two stronger flashes would do the trick with two sharper states. Worth exploring.

    Klemen

    7 June, 2007 at 03:12

  2. Sure I agree. Actually now I know how I should do the picture! It’s not the strength of the flash (I didn’t even flash it I used it only ambient light.) I should flash it just a little bit so I would get the face sharp and then with long exposure make the fuzziness of his hair.

    OK. Lesson learned. I’ll use the idea in the future.

    Nevertheless I love the texture of his face comparing with the background.
    B5

    borut.peterlin

    7 June, 2007 at 06:08

  3. I’d definitely go with the second one. I agree with Klemen that it might be too blurry, but the contrast of a man-in-motion with the stark immobility of his sculptures behind him — it’s too good to pass up.

    Michael M.

    7 June, 2007 at 13:42

  4. i like the first one.. but also second is really special.

    anyway.. the one dark side of the face in first pic is really cool.. and the background is the main part – what gives story to this portrait.., (i supose..?)

    what i am thinking when seeing the second one is that you want to show, how he can move his face, compared with sculputures in the back. 🙂

    majah

    8 June, 2007 at 00:57

  5. Thanks for your opinions guys. I appreciate it!
    On the end I decided for first one. I prefer the concept of the second picture, but I’m disappointed with the technical execution of the idea, so I decided for the first picture which I also love, but more conventional.

    Nevertheless I can’t wait to publish an extensive post on my new Striptiz portrait of Dušan Moravec for which I worked my ass off and on the end I can say it was worth every kvant of energy.

    B5

    borut.peterlin

    8 June, 2007 at 08:46

  6. treba mi mirsad begic ,kako da ga nadjem.nismo se vidjeli i culi preko trideset godina.ja sam njegova skolska drugarica ljiljana.u sarajevu smo isli u umjetnicku skolu.

    Anonymous

    10 October, 2012 at 00:30

  7. da mi neko javi na kosanoviclj@gmail.com

    Anonymous

    10 October, 2012 at 00:33


Leave a Reply

