TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait of film director Dušan Moravec

with 12 comments

Dušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut PeterlinOK. Dušan Moravec is a very renown film director who just finished a film about Slovenian photojournalists and I’m also playing a part in it as I was reporting already here and here. Anyway it sounded easy job, since Dušan knows very well my work, he is creative person and very willing to cooperate. But I guess I was in some sort of creative deficit and the spark just didn’t jump into my lens.

For those of you who don’t know my way of working is that I’m not planning too much in advance, but I do prepare a lot of circumstances that could make a picture work. It is as I would want to make a fire and I have no idea how that could be done, but just in case I bring a magnifying glass, hammer, wood, iron, matches, water, paper, a rubber, gasoline, a dynamite and two rocks. Then I try different combination and see what works and what doesn’t.

So it was also with Dušan. The keywords were a director and photojournalists, so I wanted to photograph him with photojournalists. I liked Dušan’s idea that I would photograph him as an observer while press conference would be in full action.

_mg_3992_borut_peterlin.jpgDušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut PeterlinDušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut PeterlinDušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut PeterlinDušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut PeterlinFirstly I wanted to do the picture on an occasion when political party of Mladi forum SD were trying to give a gift to the government as it was reported on VEST. It didn’t make a picture I would be satisfied with it.

_mg_4242_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_4200_borut_peterlin.jpg_mg_4265_borut_peterlin.jpgNext_day_there was much better opportunity with Prime Minister Janša and the most important managers of Slovenia appearing. I made a better picture, but although I liked the pictures they were too fragmented and repeated the shooting in a cafe pilon. That was a success and although that day I slept only five hours and was physically exhausted I felt really good!

_mg_4280_borut_peterlin.jpgDušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut PeterlinDušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut Peterlin

Here is also a version with studio lights.
Dušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut Peterlin Dušan Moravec, film director photographed by Borut Peterlin

fotoreporterji

Many thanks to my fellow colleagues Robert Balen / Večer, Urban Štebljaj / Finance, Tit Košir / Večer, Daniel Novakovič / STA, Tina Kosec / BOBO and director Dušan Moravec in the middle.

Written by Borut Peterlin

9 June, 2007 at 01:13

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Borut – i like the one you posted on top altough the version with studio lights is good aswell. Funny idea and i see you got a great bunch of “enooki” together to help 🙂

    Miro

    Foto Rocker

    9 June, 2007 at 11:51

  2. Meni se zdi najboljša ta s studijski flešem.

    Lp Samo 🙂

    Samo

    9 June, 2007 at 16:06

  3. s studijskem flashem ima zgolj eno pomanjkljivost. STAjev Mark je namreč na oFF. 🙂

    Blaž

    9 June, 2007 at 18:28

  4. jojjj… ful je dobra. 🙂
    sam s teleobjektivom tok bliz ne morš fotkat..
    sej vem, da ni poanta v tem.
    pač bel kanonov tele … je nek “zaščtni znak” fotonovinarjev.

    majah

    9 June, 2007 at 19:41

  5. Pa je res Daniel poziral z ugasnjenim fotoaparatom!

    I decided for the first picture because it’s very dramatic! The best was how it was lit. My canon had a flash and Tit’s flash was set on slave, so when my flash (that was pointed into the ceiling) fired, Tit’s flash fired as well.

    Today I shot so many images on Blogres and piknick of SD party. Fun, fun, fun…

    B5

    borut.peterlin

    9 June, 2007 at 20:40

  6. aja, fotoreporterji, kdor hoče fotko, naj mi pošlje email na borutpeterlin@hotmail.com in jo dobi!

    B5

    Anonymous

    9 June, 2007 at 20:42

  7. Mucho cool. 🙂

    Sem ravno hotel vprašat, če si zrihtal tisti fleš s slejvom.

    Drugače pa če bi gledal samo tiste prejšnje poskuse, nikoli ne bi verjel, da bo na koncu tako kul fotka ratala iz tega.

    ivan

    11 June, 2007 at 02:17

  8. funny..today i found this photo: http://www.flickr.com/photos/31454864@N00/538733350/ and your striptiz portrait came on my mind immediately.

    matjaž

    11 June, 2007 at 19:02

  9. Was about to mention this one as well… it came from Strobist & here’s how they did it: http://strobist.blogspot.com/2007/06/on-assignment-parking-lot-ambush.html

    Jernej

    14 June, 2007 at 08:39

  10. […] Tuesday 7th of August 19.30 – 20.30 Lecture by Chris de Bode 20.30 – 21.00 Exhibition opening of Borut Peterlin: Strojan Roma family – refugees in their own country 21.00 – 22.10 Projection of feature film of Dušan Moravec: Photojournalists […]

  11. Thank you for your site. I have found here much useful information.
    Good site ! 😉

    OVGuillermo

    24 August, 2007 at 13:13

  12. Excellent site, added to favorites!!
    adult

    I am sorry if it to you not interestingly.

    BMCaleb

    15 September, 2007 at 17:55


Leave a Reply

