TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

New Striptiz portrait of Samo Klemenčič

with 3 comments

Samo KlemenčičSamo Klemenčič is a director of Artcenter an institution that is organizing a Festival Carniola from Kranj. When I was driving to Kranj I had no idea how should I make the picture. Actually I was complaining to my colleague Matej that I have to make an add for T-shirt “Nisem volil teh volov”, Striptiz picture in Kranj, an hour and a half later Drnovšek signing books and on the end celebration on the 4th of July holiday.

Basically everything was going against me. Even when I got to Kranj it started to rain! I was scouting for visual elements on which I’ll build a picture. I complained to Samo about the rain and he said that he also complained about the rain in his text that will accompany the portrait. They have performences on open air in Grad Kieshelstein and rain is their main enemy. My eyes sparkled! OK. We have a common “enemy”. Let’s make a picture about that.

Classic visual formula that never goes wrong is a perspective of repetitive visual elements that are forming a pattern and in the middle of the picture you set a person that is actually an element that breaks the pattern. By this formula tons of pictures are made. Visually it works sort of like that. Brain is programmed to search for patterns and when it recognize it it is mission accomplished and moment later picture becomes boring. Like THIS picture. When you achieve that, that’s the right time to introduce an element that will brake that pattern. Like THAT. As I said tons of portraits were done by this formula. But…

But this is Striptiz portraits and I wouldn’t be happy with that sort of evergreen picture. I had Samo, I had umbrella and I had tons of chairs which I set up to look appropriate, still I was desperate for a counterpoint on the picture. Striptiz portraits are all about counterpoints! In their office I saw an interesting plant that grew strangely side wise. I immediately knew the plant will be the counterpoint.

I’m really happy how I’ve build the picture and how I’ve achieved to turn all disadvantages into my own good. Including time pressure and I achieved to catch also the president Drnovšek signing books in Ljubljana.

This is a chronological order how was I building a picture. Same idea, same situation, but huge difference between the first and last picture.

Samo KlemenčičSamo KlemenčičSamo KlemenčičSamo KlemenčičSamo Klemenčič

Written by Borut Peterlin

4 July, 2007 at 23:17

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nisem vedel da prideš v Kranj, bi prišel mal pogledat. Pa drugič.

    Samo

    5 July, 2007 at 01:05

  2. Saj prideš na Otočec, ta vikend, pa se tam srečava.
    B5

    borut.peterlin

    5 July, 2007 at 06:14

  3. haha dbest. bil sem na otvoritvi festivala (koncert Katalene), kjer je ta tip imel uvodni govor in jamral na dolgo glede tega če bo dež haha. 🙂

    ciril

    5 July, 2007 at 18:38


Leave a Reply

