TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Katja Praznik, portrait for Striptiz rubric of Mladina weekly

with 6 comments

Katja Praznik, portrait for Striptiz rubric of Mladina weekly

Katja Praznik is a editor of Maska magazine that is dealing mostly with scenography. I gave a long thought how to make this portrait. Not to mention that I’m going crazy just before Fotopub workshop and Matej Leskovšek our staff photographer is not working at Mladina, but organizing Music festival Grand Rock Sevnica. Really good stuff. Anyhow I faced again an agony of finding an idea how to do this portrait. All sorts of scenarios came across my mind. First association on a word mask was a beauty face mask with cucumbers. Second idea was to make or use death masks like this. d058_357_borut_peterlin.jpgd059_264_borut_peterlin.jpg I developed the idea to do something about the mask and reality, a mirror and reality. I thought if i should use a frame with half transparent paper and back lighted with an image. Suddenly everything was clear to me. I’ll use a Mask magazine and use it as a mask, but on a cover would be an image of a person hiding behind the mask. I was searching for a right composition. Katja Praznik, portrait for Striptiz rubric of Mladina weekly and I immediately decided I need a closed and clean space that will focus the eye on the centre of the picture. Tunnel was nearby so we walked to the tunnel under the Ljubljana’s castle. Cars were racing around but we had intervals of few seconds to runn on the middle of the road and take few frames.

The portrait was done in the following manner:

1) I took her portrait in front of the tunnel. Katja Praznik, portrait for Striptiz rubric of Mladina weekly

2) Then I rushed to the lab, where the picture was developed

3) I cut the picture and stuck it on the cover of Mask magazine

4) I took a the final picture that is on the top of this post.

Simple.

I admit I had temptations to do a digital photo montage, but as old school documentary photographer I’m happy I did it with scissors and glue.

_mg_0074_borut_peterlin.jpg

PS: On the way back I’ve met Igor Zaplatil, photojournalist from Delo newspaper. Igor Modic

Written by Borut Peterlin

1 August, 2007 at 23:19

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Res je lepa fotka! Bravo!

    A5

    2 August, 2007 at 13:16

  2. Hehe, MEGA!

    Matjazz

    2 August, 2007 at 14:02

  3. If I’m not mistaken that’s Igor Zaplatil on the photo below and not Igor Modic … Anyway, nice picture ..

    nika

    2 August, 2007 at 14:25

  4. Shit! yes, yes zaplatil! Skuza! B5

    borut.peterlin

    2 August, 2007 at 14:35

  5. PERFECT. That’s all i can say!

    majah

    2 August, 2007 at 23:02

  6. […] The beginning was hard. I was taking some pictures just to see how it looks. Miha brought with him his laptop. Initial idea was to have a laptop with his face on the floor whereas his his body would cast strong shadows on the walls. I didn’t like it. I didn’t continue in this direction because it would resemble Katja Praznik portrait and on the same time I was affraid to be similar to Samo portrait and again I didn’t want to resemble Peter Gedei portrait in a shaft. In one moment I decided to remake a feeling of primitive cave scene with a man warming beside a fire. Except instead of fire – a laptop computer. Please don’t take that literally, because it’s just my flow of ideas in development of the picture. […]


Leave a Reply

